The Memorable Concepts of How I Met Your Mother

 

 

Hot-crazy_scale.pnghimym-gif-front-porch-test.jpg

I know that I always right about this show but I love it and have so much to say about it!!! Anyways, again while watching it, specifically the episode where the Olive Theory is brought up, I thought about how there are so many theories and memorable one-liners in this show; the olive theory, graduation goggles, the hot-crazy scale, the front porch test, the pit person, the blitz, being on the hook, the mermaid effect, and woo girls.  Not only are these concepts GENIUS, but I reference them in daily conversation as if they are fact.  It made me ask myself, why are these theories, tests, and concepts so insanely popular even though the show is over?  My answer is that they give a name to feelings, people, and thoughts that everyone has but no one assigns a term to.  We all begin to miss things that we may lose, have a person who misses out on all the action, fall for someone who doesn’t reciprocate the feelings, and strongly judge the significant others of our closest friends.  How I Met Your Mother was just creative enough to put hilarious names to these common sentiments, and it’s brilliant.  This is why I never get sick of this show no matter how many times I may watch it!

Stephanie Rubin

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Memorable Concepts of How I Met Your Mother

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I agree with you that the way they do this is really cool and I think that you are absolutely right as to why the theories are so interesting and cool to viewers. I agree that because they are putting labels on concepts and feelings that we experience so often in daily life but don’t have the words for, this is what makes the concepts so interesting and cool.

    -Max Lissette

  2. mediaphiles says:

    HIMYM is a “legen- wait for it, I hope you’re not lactose intolerant because the second part of the word is -dary” show. I also use references from this show in everyday conversation. I think this speaks to how television shows are more that just shows. They do more than entertain us, but they become part of our lives. – Sarah King

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I’ve watched HIMYM and loved it, but I never really realized how the concepts mentioned in them apply to real life. You make such a good point that although it is fun to reference different things on shows (for instance, I’m a big admirer of the lobster concept in Friends), but I never thought about how some of these concepts really don’t have names in real life. I think we use TV and the concepts we learn from them a lot in real life. This is a perfect example about how the constructed world on TV both reflects and generates parts of real life. Nice post!
    Nicolette McCann

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I agree with Nicolette! Awesome use of TV and the concepts as they translate into real life. I think that’s the absolute beauty of TV (sitcoms in particular) and the creativity aspects of each of them. How nice! – Corey

  5. mediaphiles says:

    It is cool that this show was so accurately able to portray the concepts that many people have but cannot put a name or theory too. I dont even watch the show often and I still know and reference the hot-crazy scale.

    -turner arrington

  6. mediaphiles says:

    I completely agree that HIMYM is so successful because it gives clever names to everyday events and experiences that are important to us or have an impact on our interactions. In the same way that language constantly changes depending on time, place, and environment, HIMYM is relatable to use because we can understand and use the language they create within the show,
    -Lacey Worsham

  7. mediaphiles says:

    I also agree that HIMYM operates on clever and witty observations of our everyday lives. I never seem to get tired of the show either! The Hot-Crazy Scale was very memorable!
    -Kelsey Sierra

  8. mediaphiles says:

    HIMYM is a very memorable TV sitcom to quote. I agree with the above that they give clever names to events and experiences that resonate with the viewers even when the show is over! I’m not a faithful watcher but when I do, I watch a few episodes at a time and then find myself quoting them! Super relateable show.

    -Meg Murphy

  9. mediaphiles says:

    Ahh love this post! I totally agree that this show has somehow worked its way into the everyday lives of its viewers. I ask every guy I like if he likes olives before getting fully invested (because if he doesn’t watch HIMYM and get the reference then he’s definitely not worthy).

    -Sam Moore

Leave a Reply

