This Is Us Then & Now

So a couple weekends ago I was on an away trip with my team. On the bus, one of my teammates was talking about this show she’d fallen in love with called “This Is Us” on NBC. Personally, I stick to my “Grey’s”, “How to Get Away With Murder”, and “SVU”. Common theme of intense drama present, right? Initially hearing about this new show I was uninterested because it seemed like a slow pace show with not much to it.

Of course this past weekend when we were playing up in Boston, we had an unimaginable amount of free time, AKA ‘lay cuddled up in your hotel bed with snacks from the front desk and your head phones on and binge watch a TV show or movie with a teammate’. So naturally I caught up on all of my shows and then was left thinking about what to watch. I remembered my teammate talking about “This Is Us” so I pulled up the pilot on NBC’s site.

Image result for this is us

“This Is Us” stars Milo Ventimiglia, Mandy Moore, and a few others not as well-known as the first two. It details the lives of a couple who are pregnant with triplets, a sister who is struggling with her weight and her brother who is struggling with getting into TV shows and movies, and a father who was adopted that sets out to find his biological father. When I read the synopsis I thought, “Meh, this will be just okay.” After the pilot I watched the next 3 episodes and couldn’t wait for the commercials to pass because I wanted to keep watching. The show has such a sense of relatability that I have never really noticed so hugely like “This Is Us” possesses.

If you haven’t seen it, it is a tear-jerker, let me warn you. But you finish watching the episodes and feel an overwhelming sense of peace and calmness. Maybe that’s just me, but I really hope it is for you, too. It allows you to see past everyday issues and problems and take a dive deeper into those issues and others and see how people cope with tragedy, loss, friendship, love and adversity. It has humor in it but I see it as a show that teaches you life lessons.

 

-Meghan Murphy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This Is Us Then & Now

  1. mediaphiles says:

    This sounds like an incredible show. I definitely want to watch it! I love television shows that are realistic and display true relationships and struggles. People often want to relate to what they are watching, and it sounds like this show definitely creates a space in which people can.
    -Allie Kleinman

  2. mediaphiles says:

    Your post made me wonder whether or not television viewers want to watch realistic relationships and struggles on television. A lot of television and movies are marketed as and act as escapism. Do people want to live through these experiences even if really sad? Some would say no, but for others who might “need a good cry,” part of their escape is to experience something horrible on television so that when/if it comes up in real life they are prepared. just some thoughts – Katie N

  3. mediaphiles says:

    i have been wanting to watch this so badly but I haven’t had the time! I also enjoy shows that are very relate-able and avoid unnecessary or pretentious drama to keep audiences engaged. It seems like this show is about real people and their real stories. I’m excited to jump on the bandwagon soon! -Kelsey Sierra

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I have heard so much about This Is Us and am so eager to watch the show! I wasn’t sure about watching a series that seems like a tear-jerker, and I wonder how long the show will rely on such an emotional appeal. There hasn’t been a show really like this so it is interesting to see how it does in the long run. I, like Sierra, love shows that have to do with relatable problems and issues and don’t seem so far-fetched (although Pretty Little Liars is my guilty pleasure), so I am definitely going to check out This Is Us soon!

    – Ziba

Leave a Reply

