My New Love for The Hallmark Channel – Allie Kleinman

Last week, I re-discovered The Hallmark Channel when my roommate had it on our television. When I was younger, I loved watching the holiday movies before Christmas but for some reason, I stopped watching the channel as I got older.

The Hallmark Channel does an exceptional job at increasing holiday spirit and restoring faith in humanity. The Christmas specials are feel-good, cheesy movies, focused on love, family, faith, and finding happiness. Although I love the more complex films that are released in theatres, it is quite refreshing to watch a movie that reinforces good values.

90

The most recent Hallmark movie I watched was Family For Christmas, starring Lacey Chabert and Tyron Leitso. If you’ve ever seen Mean Girls, you would recognize Chabert as Gretchen Weiner, whose father invented toaster strudels. In summary, Family For Christmas is about a woman named Hannah, a successful journalist who wonders what her life would have been like if she stayed with her former love, Ben. Santa Claus transports her to a life in which she is married to Ben and the mother of two beautiful children. Through a heartwarming and comical story, Hannah has to decide whether or not she can manage being a journalist, a mother, and a wife.

Today, I am going to watch the latest film that premiered last night: The Mistletoe Promise. To say the least, my roommate and I are now huge Hallmark fans!

Do yall watch The Hallmark Channel? If so, what is your favorite movie and why? Check out the article, 22 Holiday Movies Hallmark is Prepping for Christmas, with the list of all of the Hallmark films on television this season. I promise, the movies won’t disappoint!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My New Love for The Hallmark Channel – Allie Kleinman

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I love the Hallmark channel as well, but mostly because I think it adds enlightenment to such a serious world that we live in. The movies are corny and silly but that’s the greatest joy of it. Aside from funny sitcoms, the Hallmark channel is the one place you go for a guaranteed laugh and/or smile. –Jenna Romano

  2. mediaphiles says:

    Lacey Chabert is the queen of Hallmark Christmas movies. When I was in London last fall I watched another Hallmark Christmas movie that she was in, A Royal Christmas. It was such a fun movie. Sometimes you just need this kind of movie to completely remove yourself from your life and relax. Highly recommend A Royal Christmas. Also, after looking through her IMDB she’s been in SOOOO many more TV Christmas movies. -Valerie Medoff

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I feel like the Hallmark Channel is great for providing you with “feel good” movies. I remember watching the channel as a kid but now I can’t remember the last time I’ve watched one of their movies. It seems like they have a lot of promising Christmas movies coming out so I’ll have to make sure to check them out. – Katie Thevenow

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I don’t watch the Hallmark Channel, I’m more of a Lifetime Movie Network girl but I do appreciate a good cheesy holiday movie! I think that’s why the holiday season is my favorite time of year. Regardless of the annoyingly chilly weather, I love how everyone seems to be in a better mood, it just feels better around that time of year. I just may have to watch these movies now to get in the holiday spirit! -Courtney Green

Leave a Reply

