Connecting to TV shows – Nicolette McCann

“What makes us human is our intrinsic nature to tell stories.” – Sharon Marie Ross

I relate completely with this statement. Somewhere along the lines in every single one of my classes this semester, the teacher has told us that “it is all about telling stories”. I have come to think that’s what life’s about.

In her interview, Sharon Marie Ross talks a lot about how television shows are popular because people connect to them. Once they see something on a television show, they immediately connect it back to something that has happened to them or a friend or something similar they know about.  I do this a lot.

The first thing I thought of when listening to her interview was the episode, “The Drought”, of Sex in the City that we watched for this week. In watching the episode, I actually paused a rewinded a part to send to my friend because something similar had happened to her. It was the scene where Carrie farts in bed with Mr. Big. I didn’t think much more of than that it was funny when I sent it to my friend, but in hearing Ross’ interview I understood why I did it. This realized intention of mine reinforced the idea that Ross brought up about connecting television shows to real life. And in thinking more about it, I realized that I do this a lot.

Another show that I often compare to my own life or the life of my friends is Friends. If you know me, you probably know that I date Chandler.  Not Matthew Perry, obviously, but the character. I often will rewind episodes or send clips of Chandler to my boyfriend with the caption “This is you.”. I think that Friends especially is a show that people can connect to not only because of the different tropes that each character possesses, but also because of the scenarios they are presented with.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Connecting to TV shows – Nicolette McCann

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I completely agree with this post! I even texted one of my friends about the farting scene in Sex and the City because she had a similar experience. I also think this is why those “what character are you” quizzes are so popular. I am always picking out which character I am, which one I would date, which one I wish I was, etc. This is one of the things that makes television so great!
    – Sarah King

  2. mediaphiles says:

    This is so true and definitely one of the things I think we value most about TV! It makes us feel like we aren’t alone and that we are all truly similar in many ways. I think that is always an important thing to remember, and TV helps us do that in beneficial ways.
    -Lacey Worsham

  3. mediaphiles says:

    Something I have found so interesting as the semester has progressed is the way sitcoms are a mirror and force within culture. Shows evolve with the tastes of people, but also influence what people like. Ross also mentions how she liked Cybill because she was around the same age as the main character. Studying sitcoms in relative to the larger sociopolitical context produces an interesting perspective on the way societal forces work.

    Elyse Conklin

  4. mediaphiles says:

    People being able to connect to television shows is what keeps them on the air, I think. Maybe not always, but sitcoms find humor in life, and when we see something that we connect to, we laugh even harder. I fancy my own life as a sitcom/romantic comedies. I frequently think “What would that look like on television” after something funny happens to me. When I see characters I connect with (like JD from Scrubs of Chuck from Chuck), the show shoots to the top of my favorite list. So I completely agree with you! – Max Dosser

Leave a Reply

