Rachel Green vs. Carrie Bradshaw

What would it be like to have Rachel Green and Carrie Bradshaw meet? What if they ran into each other while shopping or at Central Perk? Do you think the two girls would bond over shopping, relationships, and jobs, or would the two be so similar that they would hate each other?

In my opinion, the two would hate each other. They both maintain a leading spot in their friend groups, so to bring them together would bring in a power struggle. Not to mention they both share a strong personality which has led women to feel more powerful in their sexuality and independence.

So in short, they could either be a powerful duo or completely destroy each other.

Tell me your thoughts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rachel Green vs. Carrie Bradshaw

  1. mediaphiles says:

    This is interesting – I’m not sure they’d hate each other. I don’t think they’d be best friends, but I don’t think they’d despise each other. I think they’d be interested in the ways in which the other person lives her life, her friend group, and the things she loves and celebrates, while they would most likely disagree in many areas. Certainly an interesting thought… who knows! – Corey

  2. mediaphiles says:

    It’s definitely fun to explore questions like this- especially about two female characters I love! I agree that I cannot see them getting along very well. I also feel that they would have trouble fighting over guys, because I could imagine them being attracted to the same type of guys.
    -Kelsey Sierra

  3. mediaphiles says:

    These two are are very headstrong characters. I do feel like they would end up hating each other at first but then become best friends. That’s how I have seen it work historically with other two strong female characters, they first hate their guts and try to destroy each other but then they become best friends, like Rory and Paris in Gilmore Girls
    Laya Mohan

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I agree with Laya. These are two like-minded characters , who have established a certain leadership role among their respective friend groups. They might be threatened by each other, but would ultimately embrace their similarities and become friends. Also, both shows were set around the same time period. I wouldn’t be surprised if somewhere, down the line of their own story lines, they have even faced similar (if not the same) problems in their shows. I think they would relate to each other very well.

    -Shelby Halliman

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I want to agree with some of the other comment threads on here that both Rachel and Carrie are two very head-strong females who both carry the leadership role in their friend groups. With that, I think the two of them would have to face a power-struggle. I agree with Shelby that they would each feel threatened by the other since both of them possess such a strong female role, but I do see them connecting on various levels through shopping (mostly shoes) and their interest in fashion, to men, to their passion for a strong female presence. – Eleanor Raether

  6. mediaphiles says:

    They are definitely similar characters and it’s weird I’ve never thought of them as so. I think they SHOULD be friends, but writers would pit them against each other for the ~drama~ I could see Rachel and Charlotte getting along, and Miranda and Monica could relate. Carrie would definitely hook up with Ross and make Rachel mad, and wow, Samantha is like a smart Joey lol

    Elyse Conklin

Leave a Reply

