Sorry in advance :/

I’m having a hard time thinking or writing about anything other than what happened last night. I will try to frame this in a way to not EXPLICITLY state my own political opinion, but even I know that is difficult at this point.

Regardless of the outcome of the election, I think we can all agree that one of the major themes throughout was how this country perceives women. The chapter on Cybill and liberal feminism in The Sitcom Reader states that the show aims to “portray both how far women have come and how great the distance remains for women to achieve parity with men” (p. 202). The fact that HRC was the first female major party nominee in 240 years does show how far women have come, and is a great accomplishment in and of itself. I don’t think the fact that she lost alone speaks to how far women have to go – I think the fact that half the country believed in and supported an opponent with such a tumultuous past with women speaks to where the country stands in terms of feminism.

Women were not the only issue in this election, and Trump’s comments about them were not the only deciding factor in electing him President. But it really does make you wonder how the outcome might have been different if his opponent were a man. If Mitt Romney had made openly and explicitly racist comments against African Americans in general and his opponent specifically, would we have seen a similar divide? Would Obama have won? Just something to think about. Hope everyone’s alright.

Kristina Kokkonos

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sorry in advance :/

  1. mediaphiles says:

    Kristina – I, too, am struggling. I have heard this time and time again, but, for some reason, I can’t help but think if she were a man, she still wouldn’t have won. I do think that argument would make sense if she were the candidate for the GOP, but she wasn’t – so how did the democratic voters not vote her in? I’m confused, hurt, and totally shocked. I’d love to talk to you about this at any time because I am genuinely curious and would love to hear your thoughts on this. But, for some reason, I just don’t think that’s the reason for the outcome. (which, quite frankly, is more heartbreaking).
    I heard something on CNN this morning while waiting for her concession speech: “Trump did not win, Hillary lost.” I’m anxious to see what other articles, stories, etc. will be shared post-election because I am utterly confused as to how that happened… I wish I had better, more organized words. Dr. Louden said in this election we had to choose the evil of two lessers…. How did it come to this? Yesterday, I had no doubts. Today, I have many.
    I’m with you, with Hillary, and with America. I just hope voices become louder than ever post-11/8/16.
    – Corey

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I read this post earlier today that said something along the lines that Hilary had all the qualifications and the means to lead the country yet she still lost to an entitled man. This shows to show that there is such a long way to go when it comes to womens rights and equality. As a woman, and a minority, it hurts me deeply.
    Laya Mohan

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I don’t know too much about American politics since I’m from Spain, but I do believe that Hilary being the first female major party nominee shows that you guys are in the right track. I think that if anyone else would’ve ran against Trump would’ve won, either a man or a woman. But what I have read online I think that people didn’t vote for Trump because they didn’t want a woman as president, but just because they didn’t trust Hilary. – Jon Baquero

Leave a Reply

