Mindy Lahiri is a Role Model|Laya Mohan

The Mindy Project is a show I binged watched all semester. I loved Mindy’s character and I loved how cool she was in any given situation. I feel like I identified with her more as she is of Indian decent, but she was born and raised in America. Mindy does not completely personify her Indian character, instead only uses it when it is to her advantage. Honestly, I do that too.

mindy

The Mindy Project promotional

What really surprises me is the portrayal of a woman of color, specifically an Asian woman, even more specifically, an Indian woman. Most of the time when Indian people are portrayed on sitcoms or television in general, they are portrayed as nerdy with a thick accent and very traditional. They are also the least desirable character on the series and often ridiculed by their friends. The Mindy Project takes a different approach- the Indian woman who is most desirable. Mindy Lahiri proves that she is more than just a smart stereotypical Indian doctor by dating so many different guys. She gets pretty much any guy she wants, including most of the doctors at her practice, guys she meets in the most random places.

I find this empowering. As a South Asian woman, I have heard things like, “You’re pretty for an Indian girl” or “I only like white girls” even from other Indian boys. It’s discouraging and it makes young Indian girls feel that they are not pretty enough or good enough for boys because they are Indian. They are not proud of being Indian and do not realize how blessed they are to have thick full eyebrows, naturally tan skin and a bunch of hair on their head. Mindy Lahiri serves as a role model to young girl, especially one of Indian background due to her striking confidence.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mindy Lahiri is a Role Model|Laya Mohan

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I think its so refreshing to see a character like Mindy who is not only a woman, but a woman of color, be able to succeed in whatever she puts her mind to while also being able to get any guy she wants without being judged for it. Instead of being analyzed for her relationships and encounters with men, she is celebrated for it, and I think that’s a major step for all sorts of women in the sitcom genre!
    -Lacey Worsham

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I love this show too! Mindy is such a strong character and I love every aspect of her. I was so disappointed when I found out that FOX had cancelled the show. Thankfully Hulu was able to keep the show going! I definitely was not ready for it to end. – Katie Thevenow

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I LOVE this show. I bought a hulu subscription literally just to watch this show. I think Mindy is such an inspiring character. Her attitude is empowering. She does not let anyone judger her or get her down. She is so opposite of the stereotypical female doctor on a TV show, from the bright colorful and fabulous way that she dresses to the way she holds herself amongst her amongst her work colleagues and the way she interacts with men. i love her <3

    -Sarah Bonner

Leave a Reply

