Arrival

I know that the bulk of blog posts focus specifically on sitcoms and television, but I want to take this opportunity to implore you all to go see Arrival while it’s still in theaters. I went and saw it last weekend with my dad without doing any prior research. I’m not even a huge sci-fi person, so when I found out that it was mostly about aliens I was admittedly a little bit bummed. However, I was wrong and it was SO GOOD. If you’re anything like me, you’ve probably spent these last two weeks after the election processing feelings of sadness, guilt, all-out rage, frustration, etc. at the state of affairs currently facing both our country and our world. If so– GO SEE THIS MOVIE. It is the perfect salve.

arrival-1024x682A quick synopsis: Dr. Louise Banks (played by Amy Adams) is a professor of linguistics who has worked with the US army before in military translation efforts. She’s asked to assist in research/investigative efforts after a group of 12 gigantic, unexplained UFOs make an appearance in various locations across the world. The response of almost every single world power is to prepare for war, though the aliens have made no indication that the purpose of their visit to earth is to engage in such activities. Dr. Banks works closely with a team of scientists and linguists in an attempt to communicate effectively with the aliens. While I won’t spoil the movie because I truly think you should see it, I will say that there is SO MUCH material for critical discussions of rhetoric, truth, meaning, etc.

Here’s a review in which The Atlantic refers to the movie as the best one of the year. Also, some parts of the movie are a tad bit confusing, so for those of you who choose to see it here’s a handy Slate article you can refer to if you need anything cleared up.

 

-Callie Sartain

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Arrival

  1. mediaphiles says:

    Yeah, this is easily the best movie I’ve seen this year. I think Sci-Fi is at its best when it’s not just a big-budget action blockbuster set in the future, but when it’s used as a vehicle to engage with really intriguing thematic concepts. I love the kind of Sci-Fi movies that use the foreign and fantastical to examine the things that seem so familiar but are often taken for granted, like what it means to be human or how we connect with others. The genre is so uniquely equipped to offer really thought-provoking and contemplative reflections on the human experience itself. If you like Arrival, you should also check out Her, Ex Machina, Blade Runner, and A.I. They’re all great Sci-Fi movies that have a lot more going on than just “robots!” or “space!”

    –Kevin Pabst

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I’m usually not a big fan of sci-fi but I feel like lately there have been a lot of good sci-fi productions that I have liked! The first thing that comes to my mind was the Netflix series Stranger Things. I’ll definitely have to check this movie out. – Katie Thevenow

Leave a Reply

