Addiction in Moderation – Serena Daya

For the first time, in quite possibly years, I did not watch tv for a full 72 hours straight.  My mom moved into her new house, and did not have cable until Monday. I hated it.

I felt like I was in a state of utter withdrawal and boredom, to the point where I did not even know how to entertain myself.  I didn’t think ahead and bring a book or an adequate amount of schoolwork.  I resorted to watching old movies I have saved on a hard drive to fall asleep.

It was pathetic how much I needed stimulation from an external source. I think it’s a resource deficiency.

I have a serious tv habit, but I’m not sure I’m upset about it.  I just think I need to figure out a way to be okay with not watching tv for a while.  Like do a juice cleanse for television.  Cleanse my television palette with a book on evolution or something. I don’t know.

I think my need for a stimulus, a thought stimulus anyway, stems from a need to constantly be thinking and analyzing the world around me.  The television is a stimulus that does not require substantial thought, and therefore is a break from my normal analytical behavior.

It sounds ridiculous; I should be able to turn my brain off, and yet, here I am. Brain on, firing on all cylinders.

I read a New York Times article which talks about television addiction to television and what watching tv does to the brain.  I think it’s a dumb article, to be honest, but the stimulus is addicting.

Addiction is like a buzzword for things that are bad.  People are addicted to a hell of a lot more than drugs now.  Addiction to coffee, sex, exercising, food, sleep, and everything in between.

I don’t see a real issue with watching television to get a person like me to shut their brain up for an hour or so.  The same logic applies to how I don’t see an issue in people turning to the afore mentioned things to alleviate some of their struggle (everything in moderation).

Link to article: http://www.nytimes.com/1990/10/16/science/how-viewers-grow-addicted-to-television.html?pagewanted=all

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Addiction in Moderation – Serena Daya

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I completely understand this sense of withdrawal from television and I agree it is very embarrassing how much we as a generation need to be stimulated every minute of the day. I often wish it was easier for me to resort back to the days when we were kids and we could find stimulation from a box or homemade forts. Ahh the good ol days. -Courtney Green

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I can honestly say I have never felt a sense of addiction to television. I see it more with other things, which is probably not the best quality for me to have. I have realized that most people focus on one aspect and just go all the way with it so much so that it becomes an addiction. I feel like sometimes too much of this can just blind us and prevent us from experiencing other things. Of course, I am referring to other things than just television…haha

    -Alexandra Peralta

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I definitely have a television addiction, but I also don’t see it as a problem (as long as it doesn’t interfere with my schoolwork, my job, etc.) I watch at least one episode of something a day for pleasure. I think we live in a world where TV has become so easily accessible, that escaping it can be extremely difficult.
    – Sarah King

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I love that you chose to write about this because I often wonder if I am the only person who feels like I literally cannot function without TV. I always have TV on in the background when I am doing anything other than schoolwork and find it difficult to even fall asleep without watching something first. I think it’s so true that it’s not necessarily a problem, but something to be aware of. We are constantly stimulated by the world around us and television fills the void when there is nothing else going on to stimulate us.
    Arianna Gershon

Leave a Reply

