Ellen: “The Puppy Episode”

This semester I am taking “History of Television” with Dr. Linder. One of the assigned episodes for this week was an episode of Ellen “The Puppy Episode”. I am so glad Dr. Linder had us watch this show because I love Ellen DeGeneres! My mom and I used to watch her talk show everyday together after school. I didn’t even know that Ellen even had a show before her talk show! I thought she just did a lot of stand-up comedy.

I really enjoyed this episode because it was Ellen’s “coming out” episode. I thought the show did a great job approaching such a taboo topic, and I love how all of Ellen’s friends were so supportive of her. Each one gave her a hug and celebrated her announcement. I think it was a great representation of how all of society should handle this sort of news.

Here is an article where Ellen reflects on this famous episode: http://abcnews.go.com/Entertainment/PersonOfWeek/ellen-degeneres-reflects-coming-episode-declaring-gay-15/story?id=16281248

-Kelsey Sierra

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ellen: “The Puppy Episode”

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I too love Ellen and I really admire her because of how she was able to normalize the taco topic of homosexuality. With her being in the public eye and being so lovable she was able to break major boundaries for the gay community and continues to break them today. -Courtney Green

  2. mediaphiles says:

    Ellen has always been someone I have looked up to. I think our generation in general really respects her for everything she does for society and the strength she had to come out so publicly. I think bringing this up now is such a great idea especially since Obama just awarded Ellen with the Medal of Freedom award for all she has done for America.

    -Alexandra Peralta

Leave a Reply

