Must-See Movie: Room – Allie Kleinman

This past week, I finally sat down to watch the film Room. It’s been on my “watch” list since its release, and I can’t believe I waited this long to see it! Based on Emma Donoghue’s novel, the film has won a multitude of awards.

mv5bote2mdcwmdmwnl5bml5banbnxkftztgwnzaxmdy3nje-_v1_

Room is centered on the life of a mother, who was kidnapped and impregnated by her abductor, and her son Jack. The two are held captive in a single room, and the film follows their day-to-day experiences along with their escape and gradual adjustment into the “normal” world. The viewer hears the story from Jack’s perspective, and this makes it incredibly compelling. Jack had never experienced life outside of the shed, and it was amazing to see his excitement over things that I forget to be thankful for each and every day.

I did not expect to get emotional while watching the film, but I ended up crying multiple times. In my opinion, if a film can influence your emotions to the point of tears, it’s most likely a phenomenal movie. The cinematography and attention to detail is impeccable, particularly because a large part of the filming took place in a tiny shed where the mother and son lived.

room2

As Thanksgiving is upon us, I want to remind all of yall to be thankful for everything you have. It’s so easy to get caught up in the ruckus of everyday life and forget the many blessings you have been given. I encourage you to put away your phone, laptop, and other electronics and fully engage with those around you. Life is so precious and we need to appreciate every single second of it!

If interested in learning more about Room, check out the article Room: A Whole World in Four Walls.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Must-See Movie: Room – Allie Kleinman

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I LOVED this movie. The cinematography and editing is absolutely incredible. I agree, having the whole movie in Jack’s point of view really does make it so compelling and touching. I read the book, which I enjoyed, but I can honestly say that I think the movie is better. A lot of that has to do with the incredible performances by Brie Larson and Jacob Tremblay (seriously that kid is amazing). I would definitely encourage others to see it. -Valerie Medoff

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I loved everything about this movie. I initially watched it because I knew it had won a few awards. I loved it not only because of that, however. Instead, I found myself compelled by the story line. It is a very realistic plot, yet not one that most people think is possible. People are so stuck in their own bubble sometimes that watching movies, such as Room, really opens their eyes. –Jenna Romano

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I have read the book but have yet to see the movie! It’s also been on my “watch list” and after reading your post I’ll have to make time to watch it this break! I absolutely adored the book so I can imagine the film is incredible. The book made me cry so I have no doubt the film will also make me cry – I get really emotional while watching movies. This story was so compelling, I can’t wait to see the movie.

    -Sarah Bonner

  4. mediaphiles says:

    This is an amazing movie!! The film is exciting and riveting, as well as touching, in all the best ways. I was concerned it was going to be a creepy stalker type movie, but I was pleasantly surprised at the film and its sophistication. It was very deserving of all the awards it received. –Serena Daya

  5. mediaphiles says:

    My roommate watched this early in the semester and also raved about how great of a movie it was! I have been meaning to watch it since, but with this additional approval of the film, I am definitely going to make a strong effort to watch it soon!, I like how you tied a message of gratitude into the movie and your blog post, Happy Thanksgiving!
    -Kendall Fischlein

Leave a Reply

