Allied – Nicolette McCann

While home for Thanksgiving break, my family and I pulled our usual routine.  Dinner at the pizza place followed by a warm cookie from the place next door and a movie.

My little brother used to be obsessed with seeing movies in theaters.  He could tell you the date and time of every movie he’d ever watched in theaters.  Now, at the age of 15, he’s not quite as concerned with those details.  But the tradition stuck anyways, and here we are 8 years later still pulling the same routine.

allied_film

Last night, we went to see Allied starring Brad Pitt.  I hadn’t heard of it before yesterday and the only knowledge I had going into it was the minute 30 seconds trailer that I hurriedly watched before purchasing our tickets.  But I’ve learned recently that I’d rather not know much about a movie.  Trailers these days show way too much of the plot and should in all reality have “Spoiler Alert” written across their headlines.  In fact, most of the time while scrolling through On Demand with my mom, we opt to not watch the trailer and just take a guess on the title and description.  Sometimes it works to our favor, and other times not.

With that being said, I was glad not to have encounter much about this movie.  I think it made it all the better.  And I, as the trailers do, will not spoil it for any readers of this post. But I will say go watch it.  It is one of the only movies that I have seen in a long time that kept me on the edge of my seat trying to figure out what was going to happen.

The point of my post is really to say that I think movie trailers today, and even sometimes movies in general, should do a better job of concealing the end result in both the trailers and throughout the course of the movie.  There are so many times while I’m watching a movie and I’ll say, “Oh just watch, ____ is going to happen.”  I don’t want to do that anymore.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Allied – Nicolette McCann

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I’m super excited to see this movie. Initially and unfortunately, I had only heard of this movie after Angelina and Brad Pitt announced their divorce and rumors filled the newspapers that he was having an affair with Marion Cotillard, his counterpart in the film. Back to your post, you’re so right that a lot of movies give spoilers and I’m excited to see this one because the trailer seems like a series of random and mixed clips!

    -Meghan Murphy

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I completely agree with your point here! I often find myself tuning out movie commercials because I don’t want to spoil the movies before I get a chance to see them. Thanks for recommending this movie while not spoiling it! Can’t wait to see it.

    -Sarah Bonner

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I think your point about trailers spoiling the movies is so true. Especially romantic comedies where its obvious that the main character is going to get the true love, and there’s not subtlety to the plot at all. –Serena Daya

Leave a Reply

