Criminal Minds Under Internal Rage

Criminal Minds, for those who may not be aware of the show, focuses on a elite squad of FBI profilers that deal with the most difficult criminal cases. The show follows the squad as they must use their skill and expertise in their field to determine the next move of the criminal before they can strike again. All members bring a different element to the team to help pinpoint the predator and identify any emotional triggers to stop them. The group includes a official profiler who is skilled at understand the mind of the criminal, a media liaison, a quirky genius, and a computer wizard.

In early August of 2016,  star actor from the show Thomas Gibson, who played investigator Aaron Hotchner, was dismissed from the show due to some differences between him and the producer. We later found that the actor kicked the produce due to creative differences. Unfortunately Criminal Minds didn’t take the only hit by losing Thomas Gibson because Shemar Moore, who played Derek Morgan decided his time with Criminal Minds needed to come to an end. My question is…Will the loss of these major stars cause a viewers to become uninterested with the show?

Personally, I find that the dynamic of the show will change completely. I have grown to love the show for the way in which the group works together and the personalities of all the characters work as a group. I am unsure if I can fully enjoy the show as I did before.

criminalmindscanren2.jpg

NY Time Article on the issue.

 

Alexandra Peralta

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Criminal Minds Under Internal Rage

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I only watch Criminal Minds sporadically when it is on television rather than religiously. Nonetheless, finding out that both of these actors are no longer on the show upsets me. They add so much character to the show and they are such major roles that I think this will definitely hurt the viewership. –Jenna Romano

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I absolutely love Criminal Minds and I think that this change will drastically hurt the show. Criminal Minds’ success has not only been due to its compelling script, but also it’s characters. Without even just one of the actors or actresses, the dynamic will be forever changed. – Allie Kleinman

  3. mediaphiles says:

    Criminal Minds is my favorite show and I actually just watched the episode where they dismissed Hotch. However, I must say that they have enough key characters to keep the show running smoothly. The writers of this show are incredible at changing the plot lines of the agents themselves to keep in line with the new cases and new visiting agents. I have my fingers crossed that the show continues to impress me!

    Stephanie Rubin

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I think you make a good point about changing characters changing the chemistry on the show. When all of the original CSI characters left the Las Vegas show, the dynamic on screen was completely different, and ultimately less entertaining. –Serena Daya

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I LOVE Criminal Minds! I admit that I cried when Derek Morgan left. Even though Hotch wasn’t my favorite, I think losing a character who has been there since the beginning will definitely change the show. I also think it’s important to keep in mind that they have lost main characters in the past (Gideon), and the show was still great! If Reid leaves, though, I will have a problem.
    -Sarah King

Leave a Reply

