The Accountant

Two weekends ago I went with friends to see this new movie that is out called The Accountant. For anyone who has not heard of it or doesn’t know quite as many details, it is about a man named Christian Wolff, who works as a forensic accountant at “ZZZ Accounting” in Illinois. He tracks insider financial fraud for numerous criminals. He encounters many different experiences throughout the film. The beginning of the film talks about his mental capacity.

Image result for the accountant the movie

Christian Wolff is considered a savant. The film details his childhood with the diagnosis of a form of high functioning autism that enables him to do math and other skills at an extremely fast pace. He suffers from the need to constantly finish any task at hand and when he cannot finish it, he has a complete meltdown until he is restrained and focuses on his breathing. As he learns to control his behavior when something isn’t finished, he is able to calculate numbers in his mind within seconds and with no error. As he grows older, he gets into dangerous business by doing the accounting work for criminals. Instead of many cash payments, he receives unbelievable and valuable pieces of artwork and historical treasures.

I’m very much into action movies but I also love when the psychological aspect is played up more than the physical action itself. This movie is absolutely worth watching and may just surprise you. It shows the real family joys and struggles of a child with a disability, the uniqueness and utterly incomprehensible gifts and tasks that the human brain can perform, and the importance of family.

Please go see this, it may just surprise you!

 

-Meghan Murphy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Accountant

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I have not seen this movie but I have heard nothing but good things about it. Especially after reading your blog I want to see it. I really like how it draws upon autism and turns into a positive thing rather than negative. –Jenna Romano

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I loved reading your post! Although I have not seen the movie, I am quite happy to hear that the movie represents someone with autism. There are so many amazing people in our society that are underrepresented in the media, and I hope that in the future more films and television shows will adjust to representing a true American society. -Allie Kleinman

  3. mediaphiles says:

    On a semi-random note, I went to see the movie Allied with my family last night, but as the opening sequence started, I did not recognize a single character from the trailer I had seen. It turns out, the movie theater had messed up and was showing us instead The Accountant! The movie theater hadn’t even been playing The Accountant for days! Eventually we let them know and they switched it, but even just the first scene intrigued me. Your post intrigued me even more and I cannot wait to go see it!
    Nicolette McCann

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I was really hoping someone would write a ‘review’ about this movie. I was debating whether to watch it or not because the trailer seemed a bit confusing. Also, I am always hesitant to see movies with Ben Affleck in them ever since batman. I really disliked him as the “new batman” and I view him more as a Gone Girl character. With his many different roles, I am curious as to how I would like him in The Accountant. It does seem more of his type of movie.
    -Kendall Fischlein

Leave a Reply

