Sister Shows

My younger sister is a senior in high school and is an avid Netflix-veiwer. We were discussing new shows to watch and what kind of shows we enjoy the most. Comparing and contrasting genres, characters, plots, etc. when my sister mentioned the term “sister shows” (ironic, I know).  I had never heard this term before but assumed that it meant that two different shows were somehow related.  She explained that it means that the two shows basically share the same characters and are essentially spinoffs of each other.

The Vampire Diaries and The Originals are the two shows that my sister specifically watches that she claims as “sister shows”. Elijah, Klaus, Rebekah, are three, main characters from The Vampire Diaries that are also starred in the show The Originals. I found this concept extremely interesting and cool. Since my sister watches these shows on Netflix, she is not sure when the authentic airing of the shows is. But I would assume that during that “waiting period” when a show goes off the air until the premier of it’s next season is when its sister show would be on.

 

The-Originals-The-Vampire-Diaries-crossover.jpg

 

The shared cast members of the two shows.

 

Not only is this a cool concept, but I also view this a a genius marketing strategy. With an extremely popular show such as The Vampire Diaries, and the amount of fans the show has accumulated over the years, I would agree that creating another show with some of the characters in it would not only keep the Vampire Diaries fans entertained in between seasons of the show, but would also promote an entirely new show that is bound to be well-liked and successful. It is simply a win-win-win for the viewers, the actors, and the producers. The viewers get a new show, similar to their “favorite” show with some of the most loved characters from their previous show. The actors constantly have work as they are working for the other show as soon as their main one ends. Lastly, the producers not only receive great feedback and reviews from the first show, but also get to continue to create a sister show that will be equally, if not more successful, than the original show.

I have not actually seen any of these two shows. I have heard great things about The Vampire Diaries, and I am sure if I would watch that show would also know more about The Originals. Regardless, I agree I would not appreciate this concept if several different shows and sitcoms started to do this, however, with shows such as The Vampire Diaries I think it is extremely smart, and just makes sense for the type of show that it is.

-Kendall Fischlein

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sister Shows

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I have never heard of this term before, but I agree that it makes sense from a marketing perspective! I asked my sister (who is also a senior in high school) and she mentioned Ravenswood, which stars some of the characters from Pretty Little Liars.
    -Sarah King

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I’ve never heard the term sister shows before, but it is actually very popular as a concept. Buffy led into Angel. Frasier came out of Cheers. Its a cool concept to continue with characters we love but are not necessarily filled out in a way we want them to be in their original tv roles. –Serena Daya

Leave a Reply

