The Girl on the Train

A few weeks ago I went to see the movie Girl on the Train. My friends and I were so excited to see it. Some of us had read the book and others had not. I read the book last year and absolutely loved it. It was a compelling story that keeps the reader interested. I finished the book in two days because I couldn’t put it down. However, when I saw the movie I had very mixed feelings about it.

images

For those of you who are unfamiliar, the story is about an alcoholic that rides the train too and from __ every day. She becomes fascinated with watching the people that lives in the houses she passes while on the train. The house she watches every day is on the same street as her ex husband and his new wife. She finds herself involved in their lives and ends up being a crucial witness to a crime involving the families but because she is an alcoholic she had trouble remembering the events.

After watching the movie, I was disappointed. I thought the book did a much better job portraying the events and her thought process in trying to recall what happened. I also liked my version of imagining the characters better than how they were played out in the film. My friends that did not read the book thought the movie was amazing. This made me think about how reading the book before affected my view of the film. I think that since the people that hadn’t read the book didn’t have the book to compare the movie too, they appreciated the movie more. I do think the movie was well done, I just preferred the book.  I think it is important to recognize how reading a book before seeing a film can affect your attitude towards the film!

For more information on the book: http://www.nytimes.com/2015/01/05/books/the-girl-on-the-train-by-paula-hawkins.html?_r=0

For more information on the film: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt3631112/

 

-Sarah Bonner

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Girl on the Train

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I saw the movie when it first came out and I thought it was great! Granted, I haven’t read the book. I often feel that too. I’ll enjoy a movie more if I haven’t read the book first because I’m much less critical of it and I haven’t spent the time picturing it in my mind already. I think the only movie that I genuinely thought was better than the book was The Fault in Our Stars. -Valerie Medoff

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I absolutely loved this book and I agree with your mixed feelings regarding the movie. It is so hard to read and love a book and then watch it on the big screen…a movie can never capture all of the meticulous details that a book does. However, I did love the actors chosen in this movie, they did a great job of embodying all of the deceptively troubled characters in this book.

    Stephanie Rubin

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I really want to read the book now before I watch the movie! Movie adaptations are always so hard, especially when the book is so good. I remember when Perks of Being a Wallflower became a movie and I was really conflicted about it. The book meant so much to me growing up, and it was hard to reconcile it becoming a movie. Thankfully, the movie was well done, but I almost worry that it distorts how I view the book now. When we read a book, we imagine the characters and setting a very specific way and movies can ruin that imagination. – Andrew Guido

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I have been dying to see this movie! I did not read the book, but I heard so many good things about it. I do understand your feelings about the book not being as good as the film because I feel that is the case with many novels that turn into movies. I don’t know if I should read the book first or see the movie first! -Allie Kleinman

Leave a Reply

