Say “No” to the Reboot|Courtney Green

It seems as though more and more popular sitcoms are getting a reboot and usually all I think when I see this happen is, why? I mean don’t get me wrong of course I have fantasies of what could have been for a lot of old shows that I use to love. But in reality do these reboots such as Fuller House and Girl Meets World even come close to the originals? I don’t think so.

boy meets world.jpg

This article actually advocates to not reboot specific 90s sitcoms in part because the author does not want to relive certain aspects of that decade. The author Brian Moylan made a great point, however, that one reason we do not need a reboot of shows such as Home Improvement is because Tim Allen has been acting in essentially the same role for the past five season of CBS’s Last Man Standing, so in some ways it’s like the 90s never ended.

I know as a class we have discussed this topic, I even remember someone writing a similar blog post. I don’t know why I’m so passionate about maintaining eras in entertainment but I do think it is important for some things to remain sacred. Additionally, television networks should put more effort into creating innovate content (a point I know I’ve made before, forgive me).

I love the fact that we can pass down some of the most iconic sitcoms to the next generation but when I think about what shows children feel the same way about it’s hard to think of some. Although this is absolutely because I am not up to date on the most popular sitcoms that are geared toward a younger audience. But I can’t help but feel as though these sitcoms are popular for the moment and not an influential piece of popular culture like most sitcoms of the past decades.

Family-Matters-Warner-Bros.-Television.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Say “No” to the Reboot|Courtney Green

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I agree, there are far too many reboots happening now and it does just feel like a pathetic ploy to gain more money from a franchise. I appreciated your point about decades. It does seem that these reboots lose some value because they are trying to portray a time that is no longer current as if it still were. I think this could be partially why a lot of recent reboots have not been successful. -Valerie Medoff

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I agree and I think rebooting shows actually make viewers dislike not only the reboot but the original as well because the last impression is poor. I can maybe understand why a producer would want to recreate a show: there were millions of viewers before and mostly positive feedback, so why not continue it, make more money, etc. When indeed, I believe reboots lose importance and almost always fails to live up to the hype anyways. –Jenna Romano

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I always get excited when these things happen and I hear about the reboot because for some reason I expect it to be just as good as the original but it never is! It has gotten to the point that I wish the creators wouldn’t even waste their time trying to reboot it because it will never compare to the original show. The value of the show is never at the same level and the characters dynamic just doesn’t work.

    Alexandra Peralta

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I completely agree. It’s almost as if the writers are out of ideas and the networks know reboots will make people feel nostalgic and make them money, so they put out the show no matter how bad it is. –Serena Daya

  5. mediaphiles says:

    You should watch South Park’s most recent season with the memberberries that satirizes our nostalgic culture of reboots. In the season, the Star Wars remake is often pointed out to “not be as good as everyone says it is.” Reboots are conservative in two ways: they revive the political past of when the films were made and they also are cash cows for studios who without a doubt that there is an intergenerational target audience.

    I always thought this show was corny anyways but I agree that a reboot would be a horrible idea.
    – REECE GUIDA

  6. mediaphiles says:

    I agree 100%. I have yet to see a reboot that I enjoy. They don’t even make me feel nostalgic, just annoyed. I will say, however, that people seem to watch reboots for the novelty of it, so as long as they’re making money, we’ll probably continue to see them. I wonder what show they’ll choose to reboot next?
    – Sarah King

  7. mediaphiles says:

    I agree with your point, Fuller House comes nothing close to Full House. I watched the whole first season just to give it a chance, and I was terribly disappointed. It would be one thing if Fuller House came up with it’s own claim to fame, but it just constantly tries to rip off the feeling of the original and it is not done tastefully or well. It is neither a continuation nor a new story, it is caught somewhere terrible in the middle.
    -Nick Luedeke

Leave a Reply

