The Crown-A Netflix Original Series

Recently, I started watch the Crown on Netflix and, though I am only two and a half episodes in, I really enjoy it. I believe that I have an affinity for period piece dramas, so I might be a little biased; however, the reviews seem to uphold my claims. Only in its first season, the Crown received favorable reviews. The show received a 9/10 on IMDB as well as a rating of 89% on Rotten Tomatoes. Nevertheless, these numbers are not what makes the Crown truly impressive.

“Still from The Crown, “Wolferton Splash” (Season 1, Episode 1, 2016.)

Netflix ordered the series for a whopping $100 million dollars for two seasons. In recent years, Netflix has been pouring money into its original series in order to increase its amount of subscriptions. Noticing a decrease in the amount of subscriptions that it had received earlier this year, Netflix decided to expand its brand and extend themselves to the international market. Being that the Crown is set in the United Kingdom, Netflix capitalized on the history of Queen Elizabeth II, who is the current Queen of England. The series is about the life of Queen Elizabeth II from her marriage to Prince Philip to the present day. This series allows the audience to get an inside look into the challenges Queen Elizabeth II had to face on while trying to become the beloved monarch Great Britain knows today.

The trailer for the Crown here:

Historical dramas can often be associated with soap operas, referring to the characters as melodramatic. Though drama is to be expected in the series, it does a great job of humanizing the characters while straying away from the fear of sugarcoating that I fear this series could succumb to in order to save the face of those in charge. In only two and a half episodes, a lot has happened. Although this may be the case, all of the events that have happened so far have tied in beautifully with story line. The intricacies of the cinematography also offers its own source of narrative, revealing things that do not have to be said by the characters themselves. It is a refreshing story that really pushes the boundaries between the character’s indulgences in their personal lives vs. the duties that they must uphold as public figures.

-Shelby Halliman

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Crown-A Netflix Original Series

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I have never watched this series before, however since I am on Netflix all of the time I will definitely give this one a try now! I think it is important for Netflix to expand their market, especially for historical content. I think people are so caught up in the sci-fi, fictional, or reality shows that viewers are numb to the importance of history; therefore I am happy to see Netflix introducing some change. –Jenna Romano

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I think the second episode sells The Crown. The first episode was good, but the second episode was amazing. The show is so rich in detail, so the price tag of production does not surprise me. I almost wonder what British people and the royal family make of the series, and wether they view it as accurate or not. – Andrew Guido

  3. mediaphiles says:

    Both my mom and roommate are really into this show! I haven’t seen it yet, but I’m interested to see how it compares to Reign, which is a fictional drama about Mary Queen of Scots and Prince Francis of France. Reign is definitely more of a soap opera which I think takes away from the historical significance (even though I do admit that I enjoy the show).
    -Sarah King

Leave a Reply

