Thoughts on the Gilmore Girls Revival

landscape-1454107170-gilmore2.jpg

Normally, I believe that an incredible show that has concluded should be LEFT ALONE.  When the Carrie Diaries came out as a sort of prequel to Sex and the City I was horrified.  A lot of the plot lines of Carrie’s childhood mentioned on the show did not even remotely parallel to the plot lines of the Carrie Diaries.  It was painful to watch, and therefore I felt tremendous anxiety when I heard about the revival of Gilmore GirlsA Year in the Life.  However, although I am only finished with one of the four hour-long episodes, I have already fallen in love with it and notice many differences in it that make it a successful counterpart to a wildly successful television series.  Firstly, it uses ALL OF THE SAME CHARACTERS minus Suki.  This is an extremely significant quality of this revival.  It also takes place in a realistic time lapse, meaning all of these same characters have aged and progressed according to the story line that the finale essentially left us with.  This is a brilliant aspect of this show!!!  I almost teared up when I started the first segment as you are left with the same stylistic aspects of the series, the same witty banter, and all of the same beloved characters and you get to trace how their lives have changed.  All of these choices combined have led to the first time I have ever enjoyed a remake/revival of a previously successful series.  I cannot wait to watch the rest of this four-part special, and I do not want it to end as I have dearly missed Stars Hollow all of these years!

Stephanie Rubin

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thoughts on the Gilmore Girls Revival

  1. mediaphiles says:

    You make some excellent points! They did a great job making sure that the world was the same world that fans were expecting. I also love that Rory is the same age that Lorelai was in season one! It definitely adds to the nostalgia and makes the revival more realistic that they’ve all aged in the correct amount of time. I hope you like the last three episodes!-Valerie Medoff

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I have never seen Gilmore Girls, but I read a Washington Post article on the final four words of the revival. Apparently the actress from the original series said she knew what the final four words would be of the series a while ago, and now that they the revival has been aired, so have those words. I am not going to spoil it, but there was a sense of a mixture of disappointment and approval in the article I read. I will be curious to see if you are satisfied or not. – Andrew Guido

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I am so excited to watch the new episodes! Gilmore Girls has been one of my favorite shows for as long as I can remember, and I have been a bit nervous about watching the new episodes because I don’t want them to take away from the original series. It makes me feel so much better to know that you think its a success! – Allie Kleinman

  4. mediaphiles says:

    When I watched the first 15 minutes of the Gilmore Girls revival, I was feeling so nostalgic seeing all the characters and how they look and how they have aged. Lauren Graham aka Lorelei has not aged a day, she still has that quick mouth and looks exactly the same, I was actually in shock.
    Laya Mohan

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I also am a fan of the revival. They stuck to the integrity of the show. Lorelei and Rory are both totally insufferable and selfish as always :) I appreciate that the writers didn’t try to make the characters more redeemable – they maintained what made the show good, and what made the characters complicated and frustrating, like real people. The best part of GG is the background characters, and the town still slays me

    Elyse

Leave a Reply

