All Good Things Must Come to and End | Sarah King

As the semester is winding down, I’ve found myself thinking about endings – series finales, to be specific. Some shows seem to drag on for so long that a finale seems well overdue. Some shows end abruptly and unresolved. Then, there are some shows, that seem to find the perfect end to their narrative. How to showrunners find this happy ending? One of my favorite sitcoms, How I Met Your Mother has an ending that among my friends has mixed reviews, but is not one that I am satisfied with.

(Warning: the remainder of this post contains spoilers)

031d376e4ddd4488c419494d51193456

Image from TV.com

I watched How I Met Your Mother from start to finish. Even though there were many points during the show where I pulled for Ted and Robin to end up together, I eventually came to accept that “Aunt Robin” and Ted were not meant to be. I even learned to love her relationship with Barney. The entire last season I spent learning to love Tracy (the mother) and I still don’t understand the decision to both introduce and kill her off in one season. Once that happened, I was actually mad that Ted ended up with Robin even though I had pulled for them to be a couple for so many seasons.

I feel like I was misled for nine seasons, and the kids in the show seem to agree with me. Ted’s story throughout the entirety of the series was more about his relationship with Robin than how he met the woman who would be the mother of his children. I spent nine seasons wrestling with the fact that Ted wouldn’t end up with Robin just for him to end up with her anyway. I didn’t feel like they had the “Ross and Rachel” relationship where everyone knew they would end up together, no matter the odds. Maybe that’s what the creators were going for, but I didn’t buy it.

Don’t get me wrong, I still love How I Met Your Mother. I just probably won’t rewatch any episodes from the last seasons. I would love to know others thoughts on the series and the finale!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to All Good Things Must Come to and End | Sarah King

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I’ve never seen How I Met Your Mother but I have always heard wonderful things about the show! When it comes to finales, its always difficult to say goodbye to a good show but also if you wait too long, it becomes overdue like you said. I remember thinking I wish there was another season to Desperate Housewives and Gossip Girl, although both were very long, just because I had become so attached to the characters that I didn’t want to see it all come to an end. Can’t wait to watch this show so I can make my opinion on the finale!

    Alexandra Peralta

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I feel this hard core! The ending did an ultimate injustice to the show. It was cheesy and contrived in my opinion. Its like they wanted the ending to be different from Friends to which the show got compared to so frequently, but missed the boat entirely. –Serena Daya

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I was so disappointed with the ending too! It was too staged and I could guess it easily. I was hoping for an unexpected ending but we obviously did not get it. As for comparing this to FRIENDS, they are similar, but also vastly different, like where is your “Phoebe” character?
    Laya Mohan

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I absolutely hated the ending of the series! They spent a whole season on Robin and Barney’s wedding only to break them up for literally no reason. Also I just hated that Robin and Ted ended up together. I never liked them as a couple. And they never truly addressed how Robin was suddenly okay with Ted having kids when that was one of the core reasons that they never made it as a couple. -Valerie Medoff

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I agree! I love the show, but hated the ending. It was very disappointing and, ultimately, misleading. I, too, rooted for Robin and Ted to end up together and the show left things rather ambiguous throughout the series when going through the turmoil of Ted’s various relationships and who he could possibly end up with. I was also content with the fact that he married Tracy as she seemed nice, but we barely got to know her due to the show runners only giving her character one season. It’s a shame really to have nine seasons worth of great material to just have it end in such a disappointing manner.
    -Shelby Halliman

Leave a Reply

