Campus Cable Outage- Serena Daya

Let’s talk about the campus cable outage, and the subsequent fallout from football fans everywhere.  The Sunday after Thanksgiving break- as students were returning to campus to catch their favorite football team play on television- the cable was out all over campus.

All of my GHD friends were in a panic because they were already back on campus, and along with myself, could not watch the Carolina Panthers game.

I resorted to watching the game on a web streaming service which apparently was pulling the game from Canada because all of the commercials I was watching were for Canadian stores and fast food restaurants.  All of the commercials revolved around snow somehow, which I found extremely entertaining.

Anyway, back to the cable outage. I live on a hall full of boys in Collins, and I don’t think they found the Canadian sports website I did, so they were in a mad panic trying to find a way to watch their sports team play. I got a real chuckle, but because I’m petty (not really, I just don’t like them ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ ), I did not share my website with them.

Image result for black screen

Image: Real image of what was on the screen Sunday night.

I think its really interesting that I found the website, got what I wanted to watch, and was content with my viewing option, as long as I got to view the game.  When the boys down the hall could not watch the game at all, they were unwilling or unable to think outside the box to get what they wanted.

I guess I’m a professional tv watcher or, they are just freshman who know nothing Jon Snow.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Campus Cable Outage- Serena Daya

  1. mediaphiles says:

    Okay so I got the e mail too, but they never told us when it was going to come back on. I spent my night actually getting homework done instead of watching Jane the Virgin. I guess it was a blessing in disguise but still I wanted to watch my show…
    Laya Mohan

  2. mediaphiles says:

    Serena, I think you’re my spirit animal. That is all. – Corey

  3. mediaphiles says:

    Pretty much everything can be streamed online somewhere now. I watch nearly every Bama game on my desktop on WatchESPN or Sling TV and am perfectly content with the viewing experience. Probably because the Tide is having a historic, dominant, just plain gorgeous season. But neither streaming online nor watching on cable holds a candle to actually being in Bryant-Denny Stadium and witnessing such beauty in person.

    –Kevin Pabst

Leave a Reply

