Is it Time?

With this course, the semester, and my college years coming to an end I felt the need to address one of my favorite shows.

Time, lately, seems to be rapid firing. In a blink of an eye I am now one semester from graduating college. How the heck did that happen?  So, these next few months will be used as preparation for how I will say goodbye to the many life-long friendships I have made throughout the years; and let me tell you it will be the toughest goodbye yet. Saying goodbye to Grey’s Anatomy, however, will not. The show is nearing the end of the thirteenth season, which is one of the longest primetime television series in history.

Don’t get me wrong I LOVE the show. Literally. I binge watched the first eleven seasons on Netflix and am on the couch watching every Thursday for the live episodes. Shonda Rhimes is an exceptional writer that incorporates extremely touchy subjects either through the characters or the surgeries. And, surprisingly, she has not run out of things to write about after thirteen years. The story line still keeps me on my toes and keeps me coming back every week. So, you might think, if you love it so much why end it?

Of the fifteen-or-so main characters/doctors on Grey’s Anatomy, only 5 of them remain (Dr. Grey, Dr.Karev, Dr. Bailey, Dr. Webber, and Dr. Robbins). The show has literally killed off over ten of the characters (which I still find myself cursing Shonda Rhimes for, since I was so attached to some of the characters). Not only that, but all of the couples have broke apart. Either wives and spouses have died, or couples get divorced. Therefore, the relationships on the show are no longer believable, and it is getting quite depressing seeing constant ruin in relationships. But my main reason stands: the plot lines are inconsistent with the show’s established history. Characters are going against views that they once had in past seasons and even some medial stories are off.

greys

The show has a tremendous viewing. It is well-liked by almost every single person that I know watches. Although I will still watch religiously if the show continues (after all this time I want to see how it end, I can’t help it), I will be happier to see it end. I don’t want to see my favorite show ruined because producers were eager to keep it going as long as they could before it is not renewed on a network.

–Jenna Romano (Blog Post #8)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Is it Time?

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I am surprised by how long Grey’s has lasted and I still hear praise about the characters and episodes. I completely agree that sometimes a show just needs to end, even the thought sounds terrible. I do not watch the show but when it reaches a point where over ten of the characters have been killed, along with the relationships between the characters, it’s definitely time for the show to end. I wonder how the actors who have been there from day 1 feel about the show ending and if they agree that it’s time to move on.
    – Ziba

  2. mediaphiles says:

    No, not Grey’s! Grey’s is an incredible show and I would absolutely hate to see it go. I agree that it shouldn’t be poorly made or rushed just to make a quota of episodes. The show has been on for a long time and I would hate to see it go but maybe they could make a sister show to it or continue it in some way! Go Grey’s forever, well-written blog.
    -Kendall Fischlein

  3. mediaphiles says:

    Strong disagree here. IMO the beauty of Grey’s is the way it becomes almost a different show every few seasons because of the character rotation, that’s how it lasted 13 seasons. I think it could go 20! This isn’t Friends where you can’t replace Joey, but as long as the show follows the medicine format of the surgical wing of Seattle Grace, has good writing, and an audience, why end it? Sure, it seems kind of ridiculous that Meredith has survived a bomb, a plane crash, drowning, a shooting, etc., every television show requires the suspension of disbelief. Just because it’s conventional to end a TV show once it has been on for a long time, doesn’t mean it’s applicable here. I have been going back and watching random seasons of Grey’s lately, and I really think it could/should keep going.

    Elyse

Leave a Reply

