Bringing Disney Classics to Life

Over Thanksgiving break, my family and I drove a quick fifteen hours to Iowa (both of my parents are from there). During this trip, I decided to rent a couple of movies from Redbox to watch on the way up. Being an avid Disney movie viewer/fan, I decided to catch up on all of the re-makes of classic Disney movies that have been released within the last couple of years. The four movies I rented were Snow White and the Huntsman, Cinderella, The Jungle Book, and Tarzan and I loved each one!

cinderella-2015

It was really interesting to see how each, different, producer uniquely brought the movies to life. My first thought was how they intended on dealing with all of the over-fictional aspects such as talking animals, fairy godmothers, etc. I am, of course, aware that all of these movies are fictional and are designed to be your classic fairy tale, but transforming the characters into real-life people, in a real-life world and setting made me curious as to what would be done.

Snow White and the Huntsman, and Tarzan had completely different plots from the original Disney movie. To not give away key elements and plot aspects of the movies, I will just say that each movie did not completely diverge from the story and both included the essential elements needed to hold the original stories together.

jungle-book

The other movies pretty much followed the exact story line of the original movies, the only  contrasts from the other movies were the animal aspect I mentioned earlier. The Jungle Book allowed the animals to talk in the movie, while Tarzan and Cinderella did not. Although these animals are main characters in both of the movies, their lack of dialogue surprisingly did not take away from the movie. I have to commend the producers for being able to still make the movie enjoyable despite muting the animal characters when they are the bulk of the movie and are present throughout the entire film.

All of these movies were very enjoyable to watch and the stories are timeless, Disney classics that I, personally, could watch over and over again. Disney movies do not just bring joy and happiness to the viewer, but they teach valuable, life lessons in them. I can’t wait to see what different Disney movie remakes producers will do in the future. I would love to see The Little Mermaid brought to life because it is my favorite disney movie. I also cannot wait to see the new Beauty and the Beast starring Emma Watson!

-Kendall Fischlein

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bringing Disney Classics to Life

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I think it’s great that Disney has been remaking their classics. I feel like it can be a risky decision to remake a classic movie that so many people love and have seen multiple times. But I agree that they have done a great job at remaking the movies in a way that keeps them as favorites. – Katie Thevenow

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I also am a huge fan of Disney and love the fact that they have been producing these remakes! It is definitely a risk, but they have taken the time to take the classic moments and aspects of the original movies and transfer them to real life characters and events. I love seeing the new and different things they add to the remakes too, so this delicate balance between the classic and the new has been very successful so far.
    -Lacey Worsham

  3. mediaphiles says:

    My only hope with Disney is that they continue to recreate their storylines. I love your post and I love the new creations, but repetitive stories such as the Cinderella stories are getting sooooo tiring! It’s like The Night Of (which you should watch if you haven’t…) when will someone other than the white male come in and save the day? Just a thought. – Corey W.

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I love that Disney is recreating these classic movies. However, knowing the origin of some of the German fairytales these movies are based off of is pretty scary. I hope that Disney can advance past remaking movies and rather incorporating present day issues in society into films.

    -Meghan Murphy

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I, probably like many of you, grew up on Disney. Every Friday was Family Movie Night, and we’d all gather around the TV and pop in some Disney classic. I haven’t seen all of the reboots to come out, and to be fair, Snow White and the Huntsman and The Legend of Tarzan were not made by Disney Studios (so I’d be kind of interested to see how they compare to the Disney imaginings of the same stories). But I really enjoyed The Jungle Book, and I think rebooting these classics for a new generation and a new audience is probably a smart move on Disney’s part.

    –Kevin Pabst

  6. mediaphiles says:

    I love Disney movies and I didn’t think that this new versions of this great movies would be able to be enjoyable. Nevertheless I found myself loving them and having a great time watching them. I think that the movies did a good job of creating similar emotions that the original movie made me feel. I hope that Disney keeps all this movies coming. – Jon Baquero

  7. mediaphiles says:

    I think Kevin may have already addressed this, but one reason for the differences between the movies are that Snow White and Tarzan were not made by Disney. Tarzan is based on the book series more than the movie, and Snow White uses characters but a different plot. It would be interesting to see how Disney would have handled the remakes because (as you point out), they stick much closer to the original films. Though the ending of Jungle Book does have a different ending (to make it sequel friendly). – Max Dosser

  8. mediaphiles says:

    I like everything about the new takes because they offer something different for a new crowd and just put a spin on an old tale, and you can definitely bank on them being done well, I mean come on, it is Disney. The more the Merrier!
    -Nick Luedeke

Leave a Reply

