Loving v. Virginia

A few nights ago I watched the movie Loving. If you haven’t heard of it or seen it, it’s a true story about an interracial couple, Richard Loving and Mildred Jeter, in the 1950’s  in Caroline County, Virginia. They decide to get marry and are wed in Washington D.C. where interracial marriage is not against the law. They had to leave Virginia  to get married because interracial marriage violated Virginia’s anti-miscegenation laws

.Loving (2016 film).jpg

When they return to Virginia from D.C., they hang their marriage license in their home. Someone in the town rats on them and the police come and arrest them, forcing them out of Carolina County and forbid them to return. They live in a suburb without open fields for their children. Eventually a lawyer, pro bono, takes the case and it makes its way all the way to the Supreme Court. Finally in 1967 the  U.S. Supreme Court decision in the case called Loving v. Virginia  invalidated state laws prohibiting interracial marriage and opened up the opportunities of interracial marriage for others.

Image result for loving the movie

I absolutely loved this movie. I personally love historical films but this one hit home for me as I am in an interracial relationship. Although I can’t honestly say that interracial is universally accepted, I agree that the United States has made strides in acceptance of this not only on a governmental platform but also a social way. I’m from Philadelphia (considered to be from up north) and when I’m with my boyfriend up there I’ve never had comments or remarks made to me or about my relationship. I think it is more widely accepted up north than it is down south here in North Carolina. My boyfriend and I have been dating since my freshman year and for 3 years now we have had comments and crude remarks made towards us because we are an interracial couple.

It’s exciting and hopeful to see the progress we have made since Loving v. Virginia and the strides in our communities we have made in our acceptance of interracial relationships. Even if you’re not a history fan, this movie is absolutely entertaining and moving. I highly suggest seeing it, you won’t regret it.

 

-Meghan Murphy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Loving v. Virginia

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I haven’t heard of this movie but it sounds very interesting. After reading your post, it sounds like something I’ll make sure to watch! – Katie Thevenow

Leave a Reply

