Law and Order, it’s funny? – Nicolette McCann

svu-aboutimage-1920x1080-ko

Today I came home to my roommates binge watching Law and Order SVU.  I have watched the occasional episode before, but have never watched the episodes over a long period of time.  Therefore, this time while I was watching, I realized that the seemingly serious show actually has some wit and funny lines dispersed throughout.

In the episodes I watched today, some of the funny lines included, “So… we’re trying to find a dead guy’s illegitimate son”.  Which doesn’t necessarily sound funny out of context, but when Fin said it with a straight look on his face, I couldn’t help but laugh.  The next funny thing that happened, which was significantly funnier, was when the assailant was holding people hostage had the negotiators strip.  He made them strip in order to make sure that they were not armed, but I thought the whole situation was funny.  Maybe that’s just me.  It did work, however, to lighten up the mood of a fairly dramatic and anxiety causing episode.

I think that that is why comedy is present in dramas.  Sitcoms are all about the comedy and the goal mostly throughout it to make the audience laugh.  I don’t thin that this is the case with dramas.  But when ever there needs to be something to lighten up the mood, comedy is essential.  I think for this reason, comedy should not solely be associated with sitcoms, even though it is the main genre.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Law and Order, it’s funny? – Nicolette McCann

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I agree with you that comedy shouldn’t only be associated with sitcoms. I think our recent viewings of modern sitcoms, like Transparent for example, show us that sitcoms are pushing boundaries and re-defining what a sitcom even is. -Kelsey Sierra

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I also agree that comedy is almost necessary in other forms of entertainment such as dramas. If only for the sole fact that we as audience members need a slight break every once in awhile from the extreme intensity of shows such as SVU. This might be one of the reasons why the show is so popular because it does such a good show of incorporating wit into such depressing storylines. -Courtney Green

Leave a Reply

