Life’s Unexpected Events and Uncertainties

By: Dez Wortham

In the show the Blacklist starring James Spader and Megan Boone have many ups and downs, loops, and circles that it is very similar to the game of life. In this show Megan Boone plays an FBI agent that has just joined a special task force. James Spader plays “Red” a convict that has been on the FBI’s watch list for years. Red helps Megan Boone connect and solve cases while at the same time she is trying to figure out why he handpicked her to be the agent of his choice. This is similar to life in the sense that they are many uncertainties that occur in life and they are always certain people there to help you through them, and at times you don’t always know their motive to help. I think this show, well at least the first season, has many underlying truths and motives behind them that you have to really focus to find. The show is a constant puzzle and mystery, the clues lead the viewers mind to a different place, that’s the beauty of perception it’s all different but yet all great.

blacklistStill from The Blacklist, “Gina Zanetakos” (Season 1, Episode 6)

When you read about the show online there a lot of mixed reviews. It mainly gets backlash for the acting, many of the actors aren’t very talented but the show gets attention because it is well written and well directed. These reviews can be found on imdb.com I came across a user review that talked about how surprised they were at how good the show really was (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2741602/). From the first few moments of the opening scene you want to know what’s going to happen next or why a certain point is emphasized.

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Life’s Unexpected Events and Uncertainties

  1. mediaphiles says:

    While I haven’t seen the show, your description of the plot’s twists and turns sounds similar to the surprise ending of “The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari.” Just like Plato suggests, we are focused on the images before us and do not know what to expect or what the reality is. This makes surprise endings so exciting. I’ll definitely have to check out the show!

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I completely agree. The plot is very original and not like the hundreds of other crime shows out there, but the acting turned me off to it. I watched it when it first came out and was hoping that it would have a breakthrough, but the awkward casting made it too hard to continue watching. It’s a shame though because I thought that it had potential.
    -Maddie Turner

  3. mediaphiles says:

    Whenever a new season appears on Netflix, I always manage to binge watch this show. James Spader’s acting really overshadows the other characters because he plays his character so well. I , especially, like the connection that Megan and Red have throughout the series. It is a very difficult relationship, but there is no denying that they have a strong connection between them. One of my favorite aspects of the show is the dialogue because I always enjoy James Spader’s monologues. They are so insightful and he always seems to have an anecdote prepared for a particular situation. The show is very fun to watch and the character development is really good as well.

    -Shelby Halliman

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I will have to check this show out. It sounds like you feel about this show how I feel about Designated Survivor where I believe the show has a really good storyline and has the potential to be really good, but the acting just doesn’t do it for me. I don’t know what it is but I just can’t get into the show because of the acting. I will have to give this show a watch and see if I feel the same way about it.

    -Max Lissette

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I started watching this show when it first came out and loved it. the idea that no one can clearly know the motivations of the characters in the show is what makes it so great. I also think the plot with the husband, Tom, was genius. Never saw that coming. I personally never thought the acting was bad but i’m no expert.

  6. marymdalton says:

    I watched a few episodes but did not like the “procedural” aspect of it focusing on a different case each episode. That works in old standbys like SVU but didn’t draw me in to this series.

Leave a Reply

