Hello Wisconsin!

that-70s-show-ifc

retrieved from IFC.com

By: Kendra Thornton

The series I always find myself going back to in between finishing and starting a hot new series is That ‘70s Show. Even though ten years have passed since the last season ended, it remains relevant because of its dynamite cast. That ‘70s Show follows the everyday lives of a group of high school students growing up in, yep, the ‘70s. The characters have great chemistry and each bring a unique sense of humor to the show. I especially love Kelso and Fez who can be described as the stooges of the show; at the same time Eric’s parents, Kitty and Red Foreman are unlike any television parents I have ever seen. They are so dynamic and hysterical in their over the tops characteristics. Their strong presence and relationship with Eric and the gang make the show feel so authentic.

The daily struggles and shenanigans that the group gets themselves into make me laugh out loud at least once every episode. The show focuses on the parts of adolescence that people remember and reflect upon from time to time. While watching the show, viewers feel like they are part of the gang. From hanging out in Eric Foreman’s basement to riding to Fatso Burger in the Vista Cruiser, the gang’s adventures are hilarious because they are relatable to lots of viewers.

My absolute favorite episode is in season 4 called “That ‘70s Musical.” In this episode Fez is starring in the high school music pageant. Fez starts worrying that the gang isn’t coming to watch, and starts daydreaming about classic songs performed by the whole cast. It’s so over the top and amazing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hello Wisconsin!

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I also loved watching this show, especially in high school. My favorite character has to be Red. How he interacts with Eric and is so intimidating, yet hilarious easily makes him the best.
    -Jordan Hansgen

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I can’t get enough of this show either. Just like you, I am re-watching That 70’s Show this semester and try to sneak an episode in every morning. Much like you, I think that the fact that the characters are so honest and real is what makes this show so addicting and relatable. I think it’s great when you can watch a show with so many characters and feel like you know someone in your life who is exactly like each of them.

    – Lydia Geisel

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I just finished the series last week after taking a big break! I was surprised at how addictive it was and enjoyed the light-hearted jokes yet engaging story line. I agree that the cast was very dynamic and I am holding out hope for a revival episode one day!
    -Maddie Turner

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I always really enjoyed this show. The characters are very funny and they all have very different personalities. When I was younger, I never knew what they were doing when they were all gathered around in a circle. I just assumed the conversation was just really funny to the characters, but I now see the reasoning behind it and I laugh every time.

    -Shelby Halliman

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I’ve seen a bit of this show, and what I’ve seen has been pretty good. I’ve also been noticing a lot of people at Wake really appreciating this show. I think it’s about time I start to watch more.

    -Jake Fallin

  6. mediaphiles says:

    I actually have never watched the show before! I am curious though, do you think the majority of college aged students in 2017? Do you think the show will continue to age well?

  7. mediaphiles says:

    I actually have never watched the show before! I am curious though, do you think the majority of college aged students in 2017? Do you think the show will continue to age well?

    Katherine Naylor

  8. mediaphiles says:

    Oddly enough I enjoy this show at times. It;s not my typical style I would go too, but Ashton Kutcher is hilarious. I almost feel that they should made a show similar but change the decade so it could catch the attention of a different audience.
    – Dez Wortham

Leave a Reply

