Actors Who Don’t Watch Their Own Movies

By: Shelby Halliman

I have always been more fascinated in the process of film making rather than the finished product. Many actors share this way of thinking and commit to the idea of remaining “in the moment” as opposed to seeing their own films.

Still from the set of Star Wars: A New Hope.

Researching more on this topic, I wanted to gain a more in depth understanding on the reasoning behind this. My conclusion? I completely agree. Acting is an experience that allows a person to be fully immersed within a role. It demands a person to become vulnerable and provides a limitless approach to various situations that could occur while making a particular film. Once the production on a film has come to an end, the job of an actor has ended as well. They have no obligation to stick around afterwards, leaving them to move on to their next project in order to advance their careers. There are many well-established actors and actresses that do not wish to watch their own films due to various circumstances. You can read an article about ten actors who prefer not to see their own movies here:

http://www.projectcasting.com/news/10-actors-who-dont-watch-movies-they-are-in

Most actors admitted that the worst critics to come across their movies are themselves. Making the decision to not watch their movies, has actually benefited many different actors in more ways than one. By reviewing their movies, a numerous amount of actors find that they are putting themselves in a compromising position. In the previously mentioned article, a lot of actors admit to the possibility of succumbing to doubt if they were to see their own movies. They would look for a reason to criticize their work that could ruin their way of thinking when working on future projects. In addition to this, several actors find that being in a vulnerable state makes them feel insecure. With millions of people watching their films and formulating an opinion already, many actors have come to the conclusion that they do not feel the need to contribute to another form of critique.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Actors Who Don’t Watch Their Own Movies

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I think this was a unique topic to write on – and something I have wondered about, too! I like how you posted about the aftermath of a film on actors, something most probably never think about, and supported your point with research. Really interesting post.

    -Meg Schmit

  2. mediaphiles says:

    If I were an actress I would never be able to watch the movies I play in. I think that is just torture because people are their own worst critic. Your post also reminded me of method acting, which I find super interesting. I am a huge fan of Daniel Day Lewis. I’m not sure whether or not he watches his own films but I highly doubt it. Love this train of thought!

    – Kendra Thornton

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I think that if I were an actor, I would actually watch the final product because it would allow me to critique myself. It would allow one to play the next role that is similar to that one a little better. I think actors should do this, its just like watching film in sports, you watch it to critique your performance so that way the next week you perform better than the previous one (hopefully). I feel like an actors 5th movie should be better than their first based on how they play their role.
    -Dez Wortham

  4. mediaphiles says:

    Firstly, I love that you took such a different approach to the blog post! I have thought about the same thing many times, and have always wondered why this would happen. I understand that it has the potential to be awkward and that an actor many times is their own biggest critic, but if I were in their place, I would want to see the final product of all of my hard work, and enjoy it.

    -Maddie Turner

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I think if I were an actor I wouldn’t be able to resist seeing my own films. I would probably be my own worst critic, but it would definitely be something I would have to see to get better.
    -Jordan Hansgen

  6. mediaphiles says:

    Shelby, I very much enjoyed your comments regarding actors’ preferences to not view their own works, as it draws upon a very interesting question: should one view their own work in order to improve their trade? With that being said, I find it to be a fair point as well, that if an actor was doing something wrong, a director would have told them, and so if the shooting of the film was successful, why go back and criticize yourself! Thank you very much for your post!

    – Luke Dellorso

Leave a Reply

