Friends don’t lie, Go watch ‘Stranger Things’

stranger-things

Still from ‘Stranger Things’ Season 1, Episode 3, 2016

 

By: Kendra Thornton

I had heard nothing but high praise for the hot new Netflix series ‘Stranger Things’, but for a while I didn’t take the bait because I am usually not into sci-fi films. I finally decided to watch it because I had just finished my other show, and saw that the first season was only eight episodes. I watched the whole season in two days. I have never been so intrigued and confused by a show in my life. To give a bit of an overview (without spoilers), the series takes place in the ‘80s, and even thought I wasn’t alive during the ‘80s, it feels like I have been transported back to that time while watching the show. When one of the boys in town mysteriously goes missing, his friends team together to find him. Throughout their search, the boys uncover several mysteries and learn that there is more to the situation than meets the eye.

I think that Erik Kain’s article beautifully sums up why this series is such a hit. I especially agree with his point that the series was the perfect length. It never felt stringed out like other shows can sometimes get in the final seasons. I also think the casting of this show is brilliant, especially Winona Ryder, who made us all cry with her over a ball of Christmas lights. The young cast is so quirky that we love in the first five minutes of the first episode. ‘Stranger Things’ is such an amazing series with a strong ending that the idea of a second season scares me because I don’t know how they can top the first.

Since the series is only eight seasons, I suggest you watch the whole thing. Even if you did watch one episode, you would end up watching the whole thing anyways.

This entry was posted in Television. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Friends don’t lie, Go watch ‘Stranger Things’

  1. mediaphiles says:

    Personally, I loved Stranger Things, so I enjoyed reading your thoughts on the show! I definitely agree the casting was phenomenal, and the use of only a few well-known actors combined with lots of lesser-known ones made it impactful. Your article ties in perfectly with your discussion on what sets Stranger Things apart from drawn-out Sci-Fi series, though I am hoping for more seasons!

    -Meg Schmit

  2. mediaphiles says:

    Sadly, I have not seen the show, but I have heard fantastic things about it. It has amassed a pretty huge following within a short time of its premiere, so it must be worth the watch. I found the article you posted very interesting as it separates and analyzes each aspect of the show into a fairly simple and direct way to explain the reasons why people need to watch Stranger Things. I think it is safe to say that this will be the next show I watch after I finish my Shameless binge.

    -Shelby Halliman

  3. mediaphiles says:

    Stranger Things is a show that feels very cinematic. I was very surprised to see such a high level of production quality throughout the show; even the CGI looked cinematic and high-budget. The show is very well-paced and all of the 80s movie references and homages are really cool to see and fun to watch. I’d recommend this show to anyone.

    – Cal Parsons

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I felt the same way as you before starting the series, Stranger Things. I am usually not a fan of sci-fi films, and although many of my friends praised it, I did not start it until last week. I, on the contrary, was not hooked and after the first episode, I decided to give up on it. I liked the casting and unique story line but could not get over the surreal aspects of the plot. I plan to try watching again as you suggested and hopefully will like it more this time!

    -Maddie Turner

  5. mediaphiles says:

    Though I haven’t had the time yet to watch this new series, I was intrigued by the trailer for the new series. I’m not really into Sci-Fi series but this might have to be a series I try to watch.

    – John Armstrong

  6. mediaphiles says:

    Hi! I love this show…. I also watched the show in 2 days…. I also think that the acting is amazing…. I also felt like I was in the 80’s…. I could not agree with you more on all of the comments regarding the show as well as on the excitement but also fear of a second season, as the first was so strong. One can only ask, how can they do better? I have a couple of secrets about the end of the show though, that I must tell you!

    – Luke Dellorso

Leave a Reply

