Forgotten!

By: John Armstrong

Could you imagine traveling alone, getting on a plane with 70 strangers and all of sudden your plane crashed on different parts of an island!? Some people landing in the water not making it to shore, others landing exactly on the island and others landing on part of the island where there is life but you have no idea there is life on the island. Think about that for a moment.

Image result for lost

This scenario comes from the show ‘Lost’ about survivors of a plane crash who are forced to work together in order to survive on a seemingly deserted tropical island. After a somewhat mysterious sequence of events, an oceanic flight from Sydney to LA crashes on what appears to be a deserted island. The chance of being found and rescued is fairly small, so the survivors have to cope with a set of challenges. Also, they have to learn to live with each other if any success is to be expected. And finally, they have to live with themselves and their pasts. Interwoven with the events on the islands are flashbacks to the pasts of 14 main characters. Step by step, we learn a little more about their diverse and unexpected pasts as the group’s quest to survive takes shape.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Forgotten!

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I always hear great things about Lost, but also understand that there’s a supernatural element to the show as well. But doesn’t the ending also feel somewhat religious? It’s on my list of shows to watch regardless, and I do like JJ Abrams so it couldn’t hurt.

    – Russell

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I have never seen the show, but have heard great reviews about it. Based off of your description it seems like the show is based around the idea of teamwork. I immediately began to think about college or professional sports where individuals come from all over, with very different backgrounds, for one common goal. In the case of this show the goal is survival. I might have to check it out on my next long weekend.

    -Dez Wortham

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I never got past the first season of Lost. Even though I loved the show,once horror elements were added, it was hard for me to watch. How far did you get into the series? What are your thoughts on the series?

    Katherine Naylor

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I’ve never seen Lost, but I know it was widely popular in its prime. In fact, I’m surprised we didn’t watch it in History of Television. I definitely need to watch it at some point, but I feel overwhelmed by the amount of episodes I would have to catch up on. When watching a drama, I love to identify with one or two of the characters and imagine what I would do if I was in their situation. Although I genuinely don’t know what I would do if I was stranded on an island. -Caitlin Herlihy

  5. mediaphiles says:

    Lost was a crazy show! I never finished the whole series, but have gotten close a few times and the complexity and interweaving of character storylines is awesome. I was on a flight from New Zealand to San Francisco recently and totally had a couple moments where I thought I was gonna be a real life story of LOST haha. Thankfully I can say that I avoided any crash landings, so that I can enjoy watching it in Fiction instead.

    Michael Cyphers

  6. mediaphiles says:

    I have to say, this show really messed with my head. I am all about a good thriller, but something about the hopelessness and isolation of being on a deserted island with strangers scares me more than any other sub-genre of horror. That being said, I have not gotten past the first season. Have you found some sense of hope or uplifting tone as the show progressed? Would you recommend I power through the first season?

    -Sarah Holt

  7. mediaphiles says:

    I watched the first two seasons and stopped there. I absolutely love the first season (the flashbacks!), but the second slows down a bit for me. But I’ve heard so many great things about it (except for the ending,) so I guess I’ll need to pick it up some day.

    -Kevin Yu

  8. mediaphiles says:

    I have never seen the show, but it is one that people really seem to like and enjoy. I think this was a good overview of the show, especially for someone who has never seen it.

    Catherine Maier

Leave a Reply

