Michael Cyphers

Last night I went to see the new Martin Scorsese film, “Silence.” After the two hours and forty-one minutes of run time were over, I must admit, there were a lot of things going through my head. The movie has a great deal of complexity, thrill, and a whole lot of silence.  1482356656kadr-so-s-emocsnoi-plosxadki-filma-molcsanie

(Silence. 2016)

Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Sound Of Silence

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I think you make a relevant point about the power of silence in film; a point particularly interesting to think about this week as we discuss silent films. What’s really interesting about silence in movies, whether purposeful and thought out (Scorses’s film) or not (“Gold Rush), is that it allows the camera to do a lot of the talking. I think that it is always a sweet surprise find yourself absolutely captivated by films with little to no sound. I think it proves that you don’t always necessarily need sound to entertain an audience or carry a strong narrative.
    – Lydia Geisel

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I was actually thinking about passing on this film because the trailer seemed a little too preachy, but I think now that that was a poor judgement on my part. Your analysis of the film really makes me want to watch it. the use of silence reminds me of the lack of soundtrack in the film No Country for Old Men. The scariest parts of that film were the tension filled moments where I was scared for the characters but heard the slightest sounds.

  3. mediaphiles says:

    This film looks very good as well. I am also a Christian and can emphasize with you and the characters in that regard. I really want to see the film so to see how Scorsese uses silence for effect.
    -Jordan Hansgen

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I really want to see his film due to it being a Oscar nominee for best picture. I wish you had taken the time to expand on why you like the film!
    Katherine Naylor

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I would consider seeing this film because of the intense transformation that Andrew Garfield went through for this role. His extreme dedication must make the film worth watching. I’ll definitely add it to my list!

  6. mediaphiles says:

    I love a bit of silence (or a bit more) in movies. I think most movies lacks the beauty of serenity, even silent films are filled with loud, constant, and endless music. Just consider Battleship Potemkin we watched for this week. When the music quiet down and we can hear almost nothing, the effects are stunning! I have to watch Silence now.

    -Kevin Yu

Leave a Reply

