In Defense of Pacific Rim – Jake Fallin

Pacific Rim, for those who don’t know, is a 2013 science fiction film directed by Guillermo del Toro about giant humanoid robots fist fighting giant reptile monsters.  It got pretty average to negative reviews, and I’ve noticed that a lot of my peers hate on the film.  They call it unrealistic, stupid, cliched, with bad writing and plot holes.  Despite the negative reviews and general hate towards the film I’ve experienced, Pacific Rim is one of my favorite movies that delivers on the promise it gives: giant robots fighting giant monsters.

As we have discussed in class, film is a medium that dives into different forms of art, education, and spectacle.  Every movie doesn’t need to have Oscar worthy acting, directing, and writing.  We need variety in films, and that’s what makes genre films that know what they are and stick with it so good.  And that’s what makes Pacific Rim so good.

If you go into watching this film looking for a deep, emotional, and thought provoking story, with all-star acting, you will be disappointed.  Just as the movie knows what it is, you need to know what it is and expect it.

pacific_rim_sydney_battle

Image Source: pacificrim.wikia.com/wiki/File:Pacific_rim_sydney_battle.jpeg

Pacific Rim is about awesome robot and monsters in wicked action scenes.  That’s what I expected, and that’s what I got.  Even with the right attitude, Pacific Rim blew me away.  It has some of the coolest, and most stylish big scale actions scene I have every seen.  In one scene, a robot uses a huge ship as a sword, a sword!  Just watch here. If you don’t think that’s the raddest thing you’ve ever seen…well, I guess that’s fine, but still that scene is awesome.

Pacific Rim may have plot holes, mediocre acting and writing, but it delivers in the spectacle of what it promises with amazing action set pieces and gorgeous visuals.  We need these crazy films in life, so we don’t get bogged down with only serious films.  And with that, Pacific Rim brings balance to the world of cinema.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In Defense of Pacific Rim – Jake Fallin

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I agree with you that people often analyze films too seriously. That is not to say that films should not strive to deliver the best acting and directing possible. Blockbusters can be great or terrible, but when evaluating a blockbuster one must use a different frame of reference. This is why I am glad that the past Star Wars and Marvel movies have received favorable reviews. These films aren’t “Oscar worthy,” but they offer great effects, pretty solid writing, and strong acting in the context of the story, and deserve to be praised for it.

    -Walker Rise

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I guess my main analysis for this film is the fact that I need to go watch it, looks really entertaining
    -Jordan Hansgen

  3. mediaphiles says:

    This movie was so dope. For real, you said it right, sometimes you just need a great action “no thinker” type of movie to get excited about. I honestly really enjoyed this movie as well, but I didn’t even think the plot or acting was all that bad. Of course, I have never been one to critique movies, they have to be really bad for me to notice. Great analysis!
    -Michael Cyphers

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I also liked Pacific Rim. You’re right, not every film can be a serious or good film. I feel like there are much more of these films than there are Oscar worthy. While I do love guilty pleasure films like these (I have a huge soft spot for Jason Statham and films like Transporter), I think there should be much more films that challenge audiences to think critically. Without serious films, too often are we subjugated to films that not only don’t challenge us, but also insult our own potential to think critically. No matter the movie goer and no matter the kind of film, I think most films should give audiences something to think about and take away from a film. But yeah, giant robots and monsters fighting is pretty dope. It’s for that reason that I also like the Godzilla film that was from the writers of Pacific Rim.
    – Russell Lawrence

  5. mediaphiles says:

    Yes, Pacific Rim has awesome visuals, including CGI, photography, and also just lighting and colors used in the film! Guillermo del Toro is just dope with colors. Even a film as bad as Crimson Peak (I’m speaking completely personally now) has awesome colors and overall photography. I feel so bad that he doesn’t get to direct the sequel to Pacific Rim.

    -Kevin Yu

Leave a Reply

