Lord of the Rings: Fantasy done well

By Jordan Hansgen

Ok, I’m kind of ashamed to say this, but I have never watched the Lord of the Rings trilogy until this week and after watching, I could not have been more impressed.  The series really utilized CGI effects as well as tremendous actors.

lotr-the-two-towers-main-review

With the likes of Ian McKellan, Christopher Lee, Elijah Wood, Hugo Weaving, Cate Blanchett and others carrying the mantle, it’s hard to mess the film up.  These actors and the brilliant scenery made Lord of the Rings one of the most critically acclaimed films and the best fantasy film series of all-time.

The fantastic stories of J.R.R. Tolkien were brought to life in a beautiful way, utilizing the scenery of New Zealand and CGI effects.  I still am only on film 2 and look forward to the best in the series, The Return of the King, but all in all I was very impressed with the first film in all its aspects from CGI, score, acting, and plot.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lord of the Rings: Fantasy done well

  1. mediaphiles says:

    Lord of the Rings is one of the very movies that made me fall in love with movies in the first place. Great character building, stunning visuals, contained but confident pace, all these add up to a work of art. I should really go read the original novels. I have read the Silmarillion, a historical background to the Lord of the Rings world, and the prose is insanely beautiful. J. R. R. Tolkien is a master of the English language.

    -Kevin Yu

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I watched all of the “Lord of the Rings” films for the first time during “Movies, Magic, and Meaning” last year. The class was pressed for time, so we ended up scheduling all three films in one week. I felt overwhelmed by the length of the films, the backstory, and the numerous characters. I couldn’t follow the plot or enjoy the special effects because I was so confused by all the details. It was definitely over my head, but at least I tried. – Caitlin Herlihy

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I have only seen bits and pieces in my high school English class, but I definitely feel that I should watch all three as you are doing! Honestly, I was not a big fan of the movie and similar ones in this genre but since it is such a classic, it is something that I feel pressured into seeing!
    -Maddie Turner

  4. mediaphiles says:

    Peter Jackson really made miracles happen with these films. This trilogy is one of my favorite series of films ever made and I love that it is a trilogy of fantasy films. It seems like the fantasy genre has been taking a turn for the worse these past few years since Harry Potter and I’d like to see a resurgence in good fantasy films again. If you’re interested, I’d watch the complemented documentaries in the extended editions of the making of these films, because so much extensive prep work and man hours were put into each setpiece, costume, and stunt job. It’s really captivating to watch.

    – Cal Parsons

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I would not be so ashamed at all because I have to say I have never seen The Lord of the Rings. I know a lot of people are very passionate about this trilogy, but I have never had the urge to sit down and watch. How could you sell me on these films? What about these films influences such a loyal following of fans? I have heard they are very hard to follow and worry I may not be able to understand all the aspects of the plot if I don’t pay very, very close attention. Are there elements of these movies that would attract a 21 year old girl?

  6. mediaphiles says:

    Yeah….just sooo great! I have loved this trilogy for so long and it is even a tradition to watch the extended versions, all three, straight with my brothers during Christmas time. I spend 6 months in New Zealand, and I can tell you, it wasn’t just the high quality cast that would be hard to mess up, but the country as a whole was breathtaking. This trilogy remains my favorite, and all three remain in my top favorite movies even on their own. Hope to hear your opinion on the third. (Also the books blow the movies out of the water)

    Michael Cyphers

Leave a Reply

