John Belushi: Made for Silence?

The other day I was watching “Animal House”, because well, why not? I was truly in the mood for something that wouldn’t be a thinker of a movie, and so my friends suggested it. As I was watching the film, there was an obvious air of ridiculousness, but there was also something I did not expect.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to John Belushi: Made for Silence?

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I really love John Belushi. Yeah, maybe he would’ve been a great silent actor, but I don’t think that he should’ve been. It’s scenes like “What did we do when the Germans bombed Pearl Harbor?!” that make me think that he does a great job with the spoken word as well. He’s a really funny guy and, yeah, I agree that his facial expressions and movements are some of the funniest parts of his work, but don’t discount the way he acts his lines, either. He really hams them up.

    – Cal Parsons

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I think John Belushi is great and was definitely taken too early. Animal House is my dad’s favorite movie and I love it as well. I have seen it countless times and it is still funny, and I think that’s because of Belushi. I like how you described how funny he can be without saying anything. I think that is what separates him from other comedy stars.

    -Walker Rise

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I think you’ve made a really good point that I never would have thought of. It’s so interesting to think about what an actor I’ve always heard and seen in color would have been like in the silent film period. I think he would have done really well. Imagine seeing a film with Charlie Chaplin and John Belushi. My favorite scene from animal house is when John Belushi is just eating and eating and grossing out everyone around him.

    Russell Lawrence

  4. mediaphiles says:

    Michael, I could not agree more with you. John Belushi has an aura about him that is so entrancing. One of my favorite scenes in the movie, is when he is moving like a secret agent, yet the other two guys are just walking normally. This also culminates in a scene that I will never forget- “I thought there were blanks in that gun!”

    -Luke Dellorso

  5. mediaphiles says:

    John Belushi is one of the funniest actors I’ve seen and totally agree that he was hilarious in this movie especially. He even seemed to channel a little Charlie Chaplin comedy in the scene you referenced.
    -Jordan Hansgen

Leave a Reply

