Ranking Star Wars Films

By Jordan Hansgen

The debates that many often have is what Star Wars films are the best, so I will now attempt to rank them from worst to first in this post:

darth-vader-10-most-dangerous-star-wars-villains

8. Episode I The Phantom Menace:  The first of the prequel trilogy was the weakest of the Star Wars films.  From the 45 minutes of space NASCAR to the introduction of medichlorians, which gives an unnecessary quantification of the force.  This film was the worst of the Star Wars saga.

7. Episode II Attack of the Clones: Another struggling installment of the prequels.  This film set up the love story to Anakin and Padme and started him on the path to Darth Vader, which could have been fascinating had it not been poorly written.  Any actor trying to nail the lines in this film would have struggled.

6. Episode VI Return of the Jedi: The weakest of the original trilogy is this film.  Had they not had the ewoks or the disappointing end to Boba Fett, a fan favorite, this film probably would have been higher on the list.

5.  Episode VII The Force Awaken:  I really like all the films from this one on.  Rey and Finn are fascinating new characters, but the fact that this film is just a reboot of Episode IV was too much to put it in the top half.

4. Episode III Revenge of the Sith:  The best of the prequels, arguably by default, Revenge of the Sith culminates in Darth Vader’s full transformation.  This film was the darkest of all the Star Wars films.  The fallen hero story, I believe could have been better had Anakin not become so unlikable so quickly.  He turned into a cold-blooded killer far too quickly.  Had they spent more time on him challenging the restrictive Jedi code instead of his horrible rampage, this film may have been an all-time classic.

3. Episode IV A New Hope:  I do love the original Star Wars film due to its revolutionary sound effects and great original story.  However, there is no doubt this film is cheesy.  Looking back as a kid who grew up with the prequels, the lightsaber fight between Obi-Wan and Darth Vader is just not exciting and there were far too many cheesy one-liners.

2. Rogue One: A Star Wars Story:  The first stand alone Star Wars film was a huge success.  Another sad movie in which all the heroes sacrifice themselves for the rebel cause, Rogue One was tragic, well-written and beautiful.  They showed many new planets and characters and told a story every Star Wars fan wanted to see.

  1. Episode V The Empire Strikes Back: Easily the best film with one of the best lines and the best scenes in the story.  The epic battle on the icy planet of Hoth.  Luke training with Yoda on Dagobah.  The betrayal and trap in Bespin and Darth Vader’s reveal as Luke’s father which is now well-known among everyone, even non-Star Wars viewers.  This film has to be labeled as the class of the saga.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ranking Star Wars Films

  1. I’ve only seen IV, V, and VI, which means I still have a way to go! While I can’t fully relate to your rankings since I haven’t seen them all, I was glad to see that we agree on Episode V as being the best. I loved this one myself, and often think of it as ‘THE’ Star Wars movie, mostly because of the major plot point that is revealed, as you mentioned.

  2. mediaphiles says:

    Everyone has their own preferences for these films but the one that is consistent is that Empire is at the top. It’s pretty much unanimous at this point that Empire Strikes Back can’t be beat. In regards to the rest of your list, in my opinion, Episode III gets too much praise. I feel that people give III a lot more credit than it deserves only because it’s slightly less crappy than Episodes I and II. Still has cringy, uninteresting dialogue, wooden acting, and goes a little too crazy with the two big lightsaber battles at the end. That’s my two cents.

    – Cal Parsons

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I hear about this movie series all the time “Star Wars” oh how great it is, its one of the best film series ever and so on and so on. well truth to be told I have never seen not one of the Star Wars films. It probably breaks your heart, knowing you have seen all and able to rank them and i have not seen any so this post not meant for me. I can admit your post could possibly drive me to binge on the series in the near future.

    -John Armstrong

  4. mediaphiles says:

    Personally I would put Revenge of the Sith way lower. I agree with Cal that Episode III looks much better because of its comparison to I and II. I was glad to see you ranked Rogue One so high. I probably wouldn’t have put it above IV, but I really liked the film and how it connects to the series, but is in many ways a stand alone film.

    -Walker Rise

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I really like this post, especially how you gave an explanation for each movie you ranked. In previous comments, I do believe a couple people said they would rank Episode III a bit lower and I would agree to that; however, I was not a fan of the prequels so they would most likely be on the bottom half of my list. Rogue One is a good movie with a really great twist, but, personally, I do agree with Walker and rank it below Episode IV. Without Episode IV there would be no Rogue One. It is the basis of the whole Star Wars franchise, but, all in all, I think Empire wins by far.

    -Shelby Halliman

Leave a Reply

