Split – A Masterpiece

By: Meg Schmit

Night Shyamalan films can go either way for me. I appreciated the twists in The Village and Sixth Sense, but rolled my eyes at the ridiculousness of The Visit and Devil. So, when Split hit theaters, I was more than a little skeptical, but at my friend’s urging and my own love for James McAvoy, I caved in.

And sitting in the dark theater, half-holding my breath, I’m so glad I did.

Split is now one of my favorite Shyamalan films. Maybe it has to do with my own fascination with abnormal psychology, or maybe I was just captivated with McAvoy’s performance. But either way, I left the theater feeling like it was the best $11 I’d spent on a movie in a while.

To begin, the premise is brilliant. It plays on the controversy surrounding Dissociative Identity Disorder in a way that both mesmerizes and terrifies the viewer. Some of McAvoy’s personalities are endearing, like nine-year-old Hedwig, but others, like the calculating Miss Patricia, leave you with chills running down your spine. McAvoy portrays each personality perfectly, to the point where the viewer can identify each one just by reading the glint in his eye. McAvoy definitely deserves an Oscar for this role.

Split-Review.jpg

Image Source: http://cdn.bloody-disgusting.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Split-Review.jpg

The style is clean, simple, and crisp. There’s no flashy colors, angles, or lenses, and the diversity of McAvoy’s personalities is conveyed through pure acting ability, not special effects. It’s emotionally intense and real.

Even the plot twist, Shyamalan’s signature, is more tame than usual – which to me, was a relief. Yes, there’s the supernatural element of the 24th personality, “The Beast,” but it is done in a more reserved and “believable” manner. McAvoy doesn’t suddenly grow hair and fangs, but his body alters itself to a stronger, darker version of itself. In the end, the emphasis is still on the power of the mind, the human psyche, than the physicality of the body.

This movie brings back Shyamalan’s talents in filmmaking, and some critics say it’s his greatest hit since Sixth Sense – arguably his best movie, though perhaps now rivaled by Split.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Split – A Masterpiece

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I enjoyed this movie too and thought it was much better than his past films. The filming was crisp as you said and the plot was unique and intriguing. Many complained that it was too far-fetched, but this is a real condition, and others pointed out that only a few of his personalities showed when he claimed to have so many. A movie though with over 20 personalities would be far too hectic so I am glad we did not see all of them!

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I am definitely going to see this film the next time I decide to go to a movie. I think it is so interesting that a movie can be so thrilling and eerie without bringing out the gore and fangs. Taking this realistic disorder and putting it into a horror realm is absolutely terrifying. It is cool to think that you knew which personality was being portrayed just by a simple look of the character. That is talented acting right now. Do you really get a solid grasp on all 24 personalities or are there ones that he portrays more often?

    -Sarah Holt

  3. mediaphiles says:

    Meg, thank you so much for your comments! I am a huge fan of James McAvoy and am dying to see his acting ability put forth in this film! I have an astounding respect for actors that have incredible range and as such, I cannot wait to view James McAvoy’s work! I am sure that this film will leave me grabbing the end of my theatre seat!

    -Luke Dellorso

Leave a Reply

