The Sad Reality of 50 Shades Darker

By: Maddie Turner

With Valentines day quickly approaching, the steady flow of women to nearby movie theaters is unstoppable.  Women of all ages flock to see the shameful film that is 50 Shades Darker.  Even my mom, who goes to the movies maybe once per year, is going.  Most people agree too that the story-line is weak and predictable, the acting sub-par, especially on the part of Dakota Johnson, and that the film itself is uncomfortable.  So why then does it seem as though everyone is flocking to the movies to see it this weekend?

The sex appeal mainly attracted the fan base when the first of the trilogy was published in 2011.  Most of the time, books involving vulgar sex scenes are not talked about as publicly as this has been, but since the book gained so much traction, people around the nation felt as though it was appropriate to talk about and popularize it.  It was surprising how quickly such a poorly written book could amass over 125 million copies sold, but at the same time it is an easy, no-brainer of a read, making it perfect for book clubs and gossip.

The writing itself has been mocked endlessly.  The encounters are uncomfortable on paper and are even worse on the screen.  I am not a fan of Dakota Johnson–she reminds me in part of Kristen Stewart’s acting in Twilight who has no business acting in such a major role. Both feel forced and awkward.

Regrettably I have seen the first movie, and although I was expecting it to be cheesy from the reviews, it was much more terrible than I would have ever expected.  The buildup of the scenes and dramatic sexual tension put off by Grey are simply off-putting.  Below is a screenshot of a classic sex scene–Grey’s flawless abs and body are not bad to look at, but when this is the most that the movie has to offer, it gets old.

50.jpg

Still from “50 Shades of Grey” (2015)

While I do understand the appeal of a mindless movie like this, it seems a shame to spend $10 on a ticket only to waste 2 hours on a movie like this when so many others deserve our time!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Sad Reality of 50 Shades Darker

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I was tempted to go to Fifty Shades Darker, I’ll admit, and it would have been the first movie I see on wide screen with explicit sex scenes. I tried to go to Fifty Shades of Grey in Taiwan on a vacation, when I was just one month away from 18, but the dutiful ticket seller warded me off, meh. Anyway, the horrible reception frightened me and I went to see The LEGO Batman Movie instead last weekend. Based off of your post, it might be a wise decision!

    -Kevin Yu

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I am guilty of being a part of the flock of women who rushed to the movie theater on Tuesday with the hopes of getting some type of entertainment on the day of love. I went not for the sex scenes, but because I wanted to experience this fandom and obsession that has been created since the first one. Unfortunately, the movie was sold out when we got there. Nobody I have talked to actually thought it was a quality film, but I am sure provided some good laughs and maybe even a little more depth than the first one.

    -Sarah Holt

  3. mediaphiles says:

    Its so hilarious that we all know it’s going to be a bad movie but most of us will go see it anyways. The first movie was so bad and uncomfortable is the perfect word to describe watching it. I think huge problem is that I don’t buy it because I don’t even see any on screen chemistry

    -Kendra Thornton

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I agree with Sarah- I’m also guilty of giggling and gossiping over this sub-par book/film series. It’s such a guilty pleasure! And releasing the second movie around Valentine’s Day is perfect. While I know the film isn’t great (or even good for that matter), I want to see it so I can join in on the next conversation about it. It’s one of those movies that you want to see simply because everyone else is, and you don’t want to be left out of the gossip! I’m actually going to the movie tonight, so I’ll be sure to fill you in on all its awkwardness! -Caitlin Herlihy

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I’ll have to admit it has been about a year since I have been to the movie theater. I did go to the theaters on Valentines Day to see this movie, ‘Fifty Shades Darker’ I’d have to say it was worth my $10. I would agree that it was a waste of $10 for the first films of this series but the second one was a lot better. Without the first movie, ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ I do not think the second one could have worked. In my opinion, the first one he was in control and in the second she gains control and that is what makes it interesting for me.

    – John Armstrong

Leave a Reply

