Coming of Age

Luke Clellan Dellorso

Instead of presenting you with an ordered list of the best coming of age stories, I present you with my favorite tales. 

The Breakfast Club

I mean… this is a classic. The thing about The Breakfast Club, which always gets me, is the

the_breakfast_club

Image Courtesy of Wikipedia

way that these young women and men learn to be more comfortable with who they are and quite possibly make a few lasting bonds in the meantime (but we don’t know-our minds are left to wonder). They learn to share intimate details about their life, which, to me, is an unreal experience. I am sure that someone might try to label me as “too open”, but I live for the moments where I can have a genuine interaction with someone and tell them intimate details about my life. I love having a human connection and I truly believe that The Breakfast Club displays that connection in its entirety.

 

 

 

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

 

Not everything in life is going to glow. Unfortunately, we have to live with that fact that

the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower

Image Courtesy of IMDb

there are going to be hard times- really hard times. But the question to ask is, who will be there in those times? The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a beautiful story that makes me feel at home when I watch it. It outlines the struggles of young women and men who are fighting to be different in the world, rather than fitting in, and it also shows that we are humans and we struggle, and that is why we need to be there to pick each other back up, again and again. It is also set in Pittsburgh, which is AMAZINGGGG.

 

Boyhood

boyhood

Image Courtesy of IMDb

First, I have an outstanding respect for the makers of Boyhood, as the process to produce this film took an amazing level of dedication. If you have not had a chance to view this film yet, please do. It was shot over a span of 11 years and tells the tale of a family, but specifically a young man discovering his place in the world. Once again, it does not leave you with closure, but rather presents us with a multitude of doors for our minds to step through. For me personally, I value the way in which Mason, the main character, chooses his own path and explores his own world, rather than fitting into one that someone else might want for him.

 

 

Every one of these films brings me happiness, as it reminds me to be myself and while there are a number of other fantastic coming of age stories available to us, I have chosen these, and as such, you must go watch them! If you would like to look at another list, check this one out!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Coming of Age

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I like how you explored multiple films that are famously known as unique coming-of-age tales. I’ve seen the first two and loved them because they revealed the exquisite connection between young teens. I’ve never seen Boyhood, but it’s one on my list to see!

    -Meg Schmit

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I have not seen Perks of Being a Wallflower but the other two I have seen and I prefer The Breakfast Club over Boyhood. I have a distaste for Boyhood. I really appreciate the level of dedication of making a film over 12 years, don’t get me wrong, but to me the cinematography was bland, the writing of the characters (especially Mason) felt so out of touch and weird that I start to hate the characterization of Mason. He becomes too philosophical on life for my taste, and the ending felt especially cheesy and off-putting. I don’t think Boyhood will hold up very well.

    – Cal Parsons

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I appreciate your openness and think more people should be willing to share intimate details with one another. In my opinion, there is no such thing as being “too open”. I mean, just ask my friends how open I can be sometimes. By sharing own our story and listening to others is how we make a genuine, raw connection with people. That is essentially what makes us humans. We all strive for that honest, face-to-face interaction that we so easily pass up in this day in age of technology. Sometimes I am not as quick to look up from my phone or say hello to a new face and it is something I definitely intend to work on. Maybe I will get some inspiration from The Breakfast Club!

    -Sarah Holt

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I really like how you wrote on this topic! The Breakfast Club is the classic of this genre and created many of the standards and tropes we see in the genre. Boyhood was my favorite film of 2014 and I very much believe it was robbed at the Oscars. The film making techniques are unlike anything else and I believe it will be remembered for a long time. For those interested in other coming of age films I would really recommend Stand by Me and Dazed and Confused.

    -Walker Rise

  5. mediaphiles says:

    The Breakfast Club is the quintessential coming-of-age story. The students grow so much over the span of the film. I need to re-watch it soon! I haven’t seen the others, but I’ve heard great things- especially about Boyhood. It’s amazing the cast dedicated 11 years to making this film. It must be the most rewarding project. -Caitlin Herlihy

  6. I LOVE The Perks of Being a Wallflower. Excellent choice :)
    I would agree, that these three films sort of dominate the coming of age playing field. To be completely honest, I actually hate The Breakfast Club. Definitely a classic and certainly influential in terms of future coming of age films, but I really suffered through watching it. I think it had to do with the fact that the setting never changed for the entirety of the film.

    -Kelly FitzGerald

  7. mediaphiles says:

    For me, I have yet to come across a coming of age film that has really struck a chord with me. Books, on the other hand, dealing with coming of age themes/narratives (like The Catcher in the Rye or A Separate Peace) have always spoke to me more. I suppose there are certain narratives that I just enjoy working through at my own pace, on my own time, rather than on screen!

    – Lydia Geisel

  8. mediaphiles says:

    Okay- my favorite post of your by far. I have been obsessed with Breakfast Club before I was even old enough to truly understand what it was about. (Keep in mind I watched Grease for the first time when I was four). I would maybe add the film The Spectacular Now, which is one of my favorite more modern coming of age films.

    Katherine Naylor

Leave a Reply

