Narcos: Another Great Netflix Show

By Jordan Hansgen

If you don’t know the story of Pablo Escobar, the cocaine kingpin and leader of the Medellin Cartel, then an easy wikipedia search would give you most of the answers you want to know.  However, there is something to be said about Narcos, the Netflix Original Series about a true story that still is able to keep you on the edge of your seat even while you know the inevitable fate of the characters.  Spoken in mostly spanish and english, it keeps an element of authenticity that adds to its appeal

It’s one of those stories that even though the outcome is known, you become enthralled with the journeys of each of the characters.  From the Americans Murphy and Pena, who assist the Colombian police in trying to take down Escobar’s drug empire, to the other cartels and criminals involved and then lastly inside the innerworkings of the Medellin Cartel, you see the decisions that shaped a war that left Colombia in turmoil for years.

narcos

The main successes of the show come from Wagner Moura’s portrayal of Escobar.  He is ruthless, calculating, and true evil, yet seems to have a bizarre sense of morality in which he loves his family and is loyal to those loyal to him.  Similar to Walter White, he becomes a villain you hate but yet you still want to see how he escapes police or death yet again.  Moura’s potrayal of Escobar makes him terrifying and calculating.  Two traits that made him one of the most wanted men in the world.  This is a true crime story that is too crazy to believe.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Narcos: Another Great Netflix Show

  1. mediaphiles says:

    This seems so interesting! A few years back, I would never have considered watching a show involving drug cartels at all. Breaking Bad opened my eyes to a completely different genre that, to my surprise, wasn’t just for a male fan base. I am watching House of Cards which has similarly intrigued me–even though I am not all that in to politics, the surrounding characters and other elements make the show as great as it is.

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I’ve heard of this show, but never seen it for myself, but it definitely does seem like one along the lines of the intriguing Breaking Bad. I like shows that force the viewer to empathize and care for a character they probably wouldn’t in everyday society.

    -Meg Schmit

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I really enjoyed watching Narcos and got through about 2 seasons of it. I enjoyed getting the perspective of the USA DEA agents alongside that of Pablo Escobar. The humanization of the drug lord and the look inside his personal life is what fascinated me most. The show portrays him as a very loyal (sometimes) husband, father, and friend who put create energy and passion into his relationships. I also really enjoys the cinematography of the shots and especially the costumes. The simple, middle-aged dad look that he rocks is actually quite humorous.

    -Sarah Holt

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I love, love, love Narcos. I think the producers and Wagner Moura do such a wonderful job on this show making us feel some sense of empathy and connection to Escobar. For as awful and insane as Escobar is, they do an interesting job balancing the perspectives between those closest to him who love him and those who want to see him dead (and, of course, do see him dead). Really excited to see where they go next.

    Lydia Geisel

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I always see this show pop up in my recommendations on Netflix. I find it interesting how series such as Breaking Bad dive in deep into the mysterious world of drug trafficking. We are exposed to a world that we are not used to and seeing what people have to go through in that line of work seems to make a great story. I hope to check it out one day!

    -Shelby Halliman

  6. mediaphiles says:

    I’ve watched a few episodes from this series and have to say they were quite good! Its an interesting style, being documentary-like, yet still like a drama. Definitely a unique series these days!

    -Jake Fallin

  7. mediaphiles says:

    I really enjoyed watching Narcos, I am not sure how many seasons there are but I believe I have watched them all. I enjoyed the way it shows us the life of Pablo Escobar and how he ran things. Also thought it was interesting how it gave us the perspective of the USA DEA agents, Having the perspective of both I think is what kept me interested in the series.

    – John Armstrong

  8. mediaphiles says:

    Narcos is such a great show i enjoyed watching both seasons. l like how every episode left a cliff hanger for the next episode. The role of Pablo was so well played that even though you already know what happens at the end of the story you start hoping that the outcome will be different.
    By: Dez Wortham

Leave a Reply

