Twin Peaks Tre Chic

By Russell Lawrence

I started watching Twin Peaks last week. It has changed my life.

capture 2.PNG

(still from Twin Peaks, Season 1, Episode 1, 1990)

If you’ve never heard of Twin Peaks that’s okay. I hadn’t until two years ago. The series is a cult classic that has piqued my interest (hehehe) ever since I heard that the show was renewed for a third season. This is especially bizarre since the show hasn’t been on for over 10 years.

So what makes the show so special to warrant such a special case? First of all, the show is directed by David Lynch, a director infamous for his surrealist and more formalist choices. He’s well known for feature lengths that have gone down in history as some of the strangest films such as Eraserhead, Mulholland Drive, and Blue Velvet (yo check those out too).

His films are terrifying. There’s slow buildup, strong moments of tension that are unparalleled, and some of the most interesting camera work I’ve ever seen. When watching a David Lynch piece there’s almost more suspension of belief that’s necessary, and while the plot isn’t as important there’s more character development.

So Twin Peaks takes all of these features, bundles them up into 40 minute episodes, and creeps me out until I can’t watch any longer. But even then the imagery of Twin Peaks lingers in my mind. From saran wrapped faces to stoplights blowing in the wind, Twin Peaks all at once captivates and terrifies.

capture

(still from Twin Peaks, Season One, Episode One, 1990)

Find out more about it here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Twin Peaks Tre Chic

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I’d actually heard about Twin Peaks my freshman year at Wake, but never quite knew what it was about – I thought maybe it was too strange and formalistic for my taste, since I’m more of a realist/ classicist fan. However, seeing as to the renewed interest in the show, I might have to take a look!

    -Meg Schmit

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I have watched the first two episodes and I stopped. Never really knew why, because I liked both of the them. Now that the third season is coming, I think I should go check the rest of the series out. I have only seen his Mulholland Drive other than the two episodes, and I think you described the features of his film pretty accurately. He is a fascinating director.

    -Kevin Yu

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I don’t think I have seen a single thing made by David Lynch yet but I know that that has to change ASAP. It seems like he really leaves his fingerprints in this show and I’m very interested in Lynch’s filmography. I just have to get around to watching some of them.

    – Cal Parsons

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I have heard of Twin Peaks, but never got around to watching it. Your description of the show is very interesting, so I must put it on my list. The intricate build of tension really draws me to the story and I am very intrigued by the director’s use of surrealism. I hope to watch it soon!

    -Shelby Halliman

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I have heard so much about Twin Peaks over the past few years, but for some reason still have never started to watch it. I’m a big fan of film and TV filed with tension and physiological thrills. I will definitely check it out!

    -Jake Fallin

  6. marymdalton says:

    I used to have gatherings at my house when friends would come over and watch it together…great times…terrific series.

Leave a Reply

