Reality tv or dramatic scripting?

By Catherine Maier

Monday night at 8pm you will find me watching The Bachelor like many other people. Whether it is loved or hated, people tune into reality tv shows because it is a way for people to live through other people’s lives. Reality tv is often very controversial in that much of it tends to be scripted and it is truly “reality”. The Bachelor is a show that has gained a lot of traction over the years and it has become a weekly ritual in my house. It is sad, but the enjoyment comes from watching this superficial and interesting way of dating many different  women and hoping ending up with “the one”.

The much anticipated rose ceremonies are overly dramatic and arguably the most tense moments of the show. It is also a very emotional experience for most of the women as well as the bachelor himself, which as an outsider is interesting to see. It is such a quick experience, and they almost have to go into this knowing they will like who he is when they barely know him.

The women on the show leave they jobs and basically put their life on hold in hopes of falling in love, which just feeds into the superficial nature of the show. It is also so crazy to me that these women or the bachelor may have to completely relocate and start a new life in a new place depending on their significant other. The people on the show have to be so open to whatever the future entail.

If you want some good entertainment and a completely unrealistic dating experience, definitely tune in!

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 5.16.05 PM.png

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Reality tv or dramatic scripting?

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I love the Bachelor/Bachelorette series! I completely agree with your point about why people tune into reality television. Reality television provides a glimpse into another lifestyle, one that may be the complete opposite of your own. Some reality television shows are my absolute guiltiest pleasure. -Caitlin Herlihy

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I’ve never seen this show because I’m scared that if I do I’ll get addicted and I dont know if I want that. I hear that you can actually look up to see who wins before the season even starts. It has to be pretty much all scripted and honestly is such a twisted way to “fall in love”

    -Kendra Thornton

  3. mediaphiles says:

    My brother and his girlfriend always watch this show. I’ll admit reality tv can definitely be very entertaining and dramatic. People definitely love these types of shows and how you describe why is definitely true -Jordan Hansgen

  4. I held out on watching this for the longest time, knowing that my friends who watched were borderline addicted. I caved and got sucked into the show, wasting 2 hours every Monday to see who gets eliminated. It is certainly entertaining, but I will admit that I usually get frustrated before the end and look up spoilers. Reality TV certainly is its own breed.

    -Kelly FitzGerald

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I have not watched the show recently, but most of my friends seem addicted. It really is an entirely different world once something like dating is placed on television. Dating can be such a personal moment, but, on reality tv, all eyes are on that potential couple. It is quite interesting to see how things play out; however, it is sad to see that those couples usually do not last after the cameras are shut off. Hopefully, all works out for them after this season.

    -Shelby Halliman

  6. mediaphiles says:

    I think what I love most about most reality TV shows (but, especially The Bachelor/Bachelorette) is watching WITH other people. The conversations I have with my friends and the experience of getting together every Monday night to bond over something we all agree is stupid but can’t help love, is pretty endearing! Even the craziest of shows can bring us a little bit closer.

    -Lydia Geisel

  7. mediaphiles says:

    Yeah, most, if not all, of reality TV shows are fake. That doesn’t necessarily mean it won’t be entertaining. It can start conversations and be fun to watch. That being said, I still probably won’t watch this show, but realize why people do.

    -Jake Fallin

  8. mediaphiles says:

    I have to say I’m not really as fan of reality TV. The reason being, it is probably fake and It has too much drama for me. . . I’m not a person of drama. I also feel like reality TV habits rubs off on individuals who watches it everyday; like they become bits and pieces of each person on the show.

    – John Armstrong

  9. mediaphiles says:

    I never watched the show but always like watching the snippets that come on right before or after. I think i would have a hard time watching it and becoming invested like most people because it seems so staged and i think i would do more laughing than actually caring about whats going on.
    By:Dez Wortham

  10. mediaphiles says:

    I used to watch the show with my parents as a kid and was really into it, but as I have gotten older I haven’t been able to deal with the cheesiness of it and how scripted it all seems. I definitely have been intrigued by the idea of watching this season however because I have seen a lot of talk about some of the girls like Corrine and it seems like this season may be very entertaining. Perhaps I will try watching it again when the season is over and I can binge watch it.

    -Max Lissette

  11. mediaphiles says:

    This is definitely one of my guilty pleasure series. Your blog post as inspired me to do some research and ask: what is scripted, and what is true? I am interested in talking about this in my next blog post. Yet, I have to admit, I am worried it might ruin the show for me.

    Katherine Naylor

Leave a Reply

