Fist Fight – A Dose of Therapy

By: Meg Schmit

In a world perched on the edge of political correctness, you could say we all get a little tense at times. We are all more aware of what it means to be a bully, offensive, or inconsiderate, and it makes us a lot more polite and pre-thinking people – however, it also builds up a lot of internal pressure.

The modern world expects us to release negative energy into productivity – work, exercise, hobbies – or relaxation – meditation, yoga, talking. Yet, every single one of us has had a moment of violent emotion that has no acceptable outlet in society; instead, the practice of bottling-in has become standard.

Say hello to Fist Fight, the terribly sloppy film that leaves you sighing in relief.

Fist Fight, from the previews, is predictably a mediocre comedy. It has big players like Charlie Day and Ice Cube, but lacks the clever undercuts of humor. Instead, it rams you full on with silly stupid violence and acts of rebellion.

fistfightheader.jpg

Image Source

As I watched, the film seemed to poke fun at all the serious, offensive things that would make most of us shudder to think of in real life – and unfortunately often happen, like the lack of funding and discipline in public schools, the under-appreciation of teachers, and inappropriate teacher-student behavior.

The way it is resolved, however, is through something extremely taboo in modern America – a fist fight. A furious long-winded, fully condoned fist fight. As you watch, you can feel all of the pent up pressure leaving your body as you succumb to the exhilaration of this ridiculous climax. It’s hilarious, violent, and strangely therapeutic. It is the epic example of cinematic release.

So for all that Fist Fight lacks in plot, character development, and witty humor – it makes up for the catharsis viewers feel when leaving the theater – so they can go on to live another peaceful, politically correct day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fist Fight – A Dose of Therapy

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I was thinking of going to see this movie as a stress relief after midterms this week, and I am glad to hear that it is as stupidly good as expected! I looks and sounds to me that this will be a laid back two hours at the theater which is just what I will be needing!

    –Maddie Turner

  2. mediaphiles says:

    Usually a fan to movies like this but the trailer just didn’t grab me me and make me want to spend a few bucks on nonsense. Your take on it makes it seem like it maybe be reasonable to watch especially after this hectic week. This may just give me the laugh i need and maybe ill throw a few punches at my shadow and be back to normal.

    -Dez

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I think you add great humor to the film with the perspective of living vicariously through the actors so we walk out of the theater feeling like we have all won a fist fight or something. I agree with Dez that the trailer for this movie was pretty bad. I don’t know if I will ever get around to seeing this movie, but I like your perspective on it!

    -Kendra

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I love Charlie Day, so it is somewhat upsetting to hear a lacking in witty humor, but I am looking forward to watching it anyways. Your description is pretty spot on about the learning to have to keep emotions bottled up. I look forward to seeing the film and hopefully get the same feelings as you did as a result.
    -Michael Cyphers

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I haven’t heard much about this film other than watching an interview with Ice Cube talking about the show and his relationship with Charlie Day. I also heard that Charlie isn’t playing his typical incredibly goofy character that he plays in Always Sunny. I think the combination of him and Ice Cube is really interesting and I’m looking forward to seeing the movie to see how they work together.

    -Max Lissette

Leave a Reply

