A Tribute to the Creators

Luke Clellan Dellorso

This semester I crafted a post that discussed the power of new media platforms, such as YouTube and Vimeo and I would like to revisit that now.

screen-shot-2017-02-28-at-12-30-17-am

Image Courtesy of YouTube User Fever Central

The Oscars ceremony was last night and immediately following the opening monologue, someone that I aspire to be like was right there, to share a message with the world: #Casey #Neistat. I attribute a great deal of my motivation to him- he has inspired me whenever I’ve been down and he taught me to chase what I love. So when I saw him, I immediately listened up, and his message was this- to all of the creators, directors, and filmmakers who do the work that does not get recognized; all of the work that there is not an award ceremony for-keep creating; keep dreaming. We do not do it because we have to, we do it because we want to, because we love to and at the end of the day, we all have one thing in common: when someone tells us that we can’t, our answer is an astounding, “Watch Me.”

This advertisement was for Samsung and all of the footage, aside from Casey’s monologue, was shot on the Samsung Galaxy S7, and was able to reach all of the viewers of the Oscars and inform them of a new medium that has uncovered magic within it and is the home to stars waiting to find their path. While thinking about all of this, I came across another idea that I am so grateful for. I realized that Casey is doing something that no one has ever done before. He is bringing the high-production world to the space of creators who work on small budgets and strive for creativity. He has worked in both industries and is now working to bring light to the amazing talents that are waiting in the shadows of YouTube.

I guess that the reason that I am writing about this, is that I feel as though YouTube is a home for me too and I want to share that home with everyone. I want the world to see how amazing the talent on YouTube is and I am certain that filmmakers, actors, and creators alike will be discovered on YouTube and will go on to do great things.

YouTube is a democratic outlet that allows creators to share their work freely and let the world see it. It is exciting for me, to think about what could come next and what part YouTube will play in mass media and film culture ten years from now.

If you have not had the opportunity to view Casey’s work, then please do. Let him inspire you. Please take a look at his channel as well as his Samsung, Oscars commercial which Patrick Coffee of Adweek referred to as the representation of “…a creative generation armed only with its own ambitions.” 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Tribute to the Creators

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I like this alternative medium post – it’s very important to realize the growing dominance of other platforms like YouTube and their potential for turning out new talent. I, for one, am intrigued by YouTube Red – after reading this, maybe I will invest in it!

    -Meg Schmit

  2. mediaphiles says:

    This commercial spoke to me too! Especially in a time where internship applications can get the best of me. I liked how out of all the Oscars potential topics, you choose this one.
    Katherine Naylor

  3. We talked about this the other day, but I am really glad you chose to write about it. I actually didn’t know who Casey Neistat was prior, so the message of this advertisement really hit home with its attempt to share the spotlight with YouTubers. The final line, “Watch me,” gave me chills and spoke volumes to the creative appetite that filmmakers share. It really is something more beautiful than words can describe, so thank you for bringing it back to the surface!
    Kelly

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I agree with the fact that, “YouTube is a democratic outlet that allows creators to share their work freely and let the world see it.” I’d like to become a Youtuber myself one day because I enjoy making videos, but because I am an athlete it is very hard to find the time too. Soon I will be ale to find the time to really focus and make videos to share to the world.

    – John Armstrong

Leave a Reply

