I Started Watching Stranger Things!

By Shelby Halliman

*Spoilers ahead*

So… I started watching Stranger Things yesterday…

“Official Poster of Stranger Things”.

I began Stranger Things yesterday and I am already on episode four. Actually, is it bad that I am currently watching it as I type this? It is funny. It is edgy. And, it always leaves me wondering about what is going on in that little town in Indiana. The series reminds me a lot of a Steven Spielberg film, especially a film like E.T. I really enjoy the cinematography because it give me sort of an 80s film feel to it as if this could be shot on a Super 8. Also, there were several instances where the series paid homage to other beloved aspects in widely recognized films. I was curious to see what other references Stranger Things had made so I went searching and, luckily, I found an article that gives reference to all of the Easter eggs that were present throughout the show. I would recommend taking a look at it to see all of the comparisons made from popular sci-fi/horror films. Here is the link to the article below:

http://time.com/4436008/stranger-things-netflix-references/

One of the elements that really stuck out to me in this series was the lighting. The way they configured the lights is absolutely amazing. The timing was very well-managed and the fact that the lights are used as a source of communication is very interesting. Actually, Stranger Things manages to go one step further and include other means of technology that is used in various unconventional ways.

Still from Stranger Things, “Chapter Three: Holly, Jolly”(Season 1, Episode 3, 2016).

In the screen cap above, this is a powerful scene due to the fact that this is one of the first instances where Will’s mother comes in contact with him since his disappearance. You can see the happiness and the overwhelming look on her face while she tries to figure out Will’s location. The way Will’s mother utilizes the lights to communicate with him is utterly fascinating. In addition to this, the lights do a combination of blinking, flashing, glowing, etc. The various usage of the lights frequently contrast with the dark undertones set within the series. Highlighting a crucial moment in a specific scene, the lights indicate that emotions are running high. This is when the mother usually finds a clue and comes one step closer to finding Will. Oh wow, episode 5 already? Perfect timing! On that note, I am interested to see what is next since I have realized that there are only 8 chapters. Luckily, season two is already in production.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Started Watching Stranger Things!

  1. mediaphiles says:

    It is quite good right? A really good series to pass time, and a page turner too. Not the right metaphor. Episode binger maybe? I also agree that it is quite visually stylish. Just pleasant to look at!

    -Kevin Yu

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I love, love, love Stranger Things. The show does such a great job at building tension, but in a way that is really engaging and less anxiety-inducing. I think they did an awesome job casting this show. All of the kids, like you said, are hilarious and play off of each other’s energy so well. As scary as it can get, its so fun to watch!

    -Lydia Geisel

  3. mediaphiles says:

    That is one of my favorite scene from Stranger Things too! Winona Ryder did such an amazing job in this scene convincing everyone that Will was talking to her through those lights and it really is such a cool concept. I can’t wait for season 2 and can’t even begin to guess what craziness will happen!

    -Kendra Thornton

  4. mediaphiles says:

    Shelby, I am so happy that you are watching “Stranger Things!” I watched the show over the summer and finished it in two nights… very late nights! The show was addicting and I could not get enough! When you do finish, I would say that you should take a look at some of the easter eggs on the show, as there are a number of vital pieces of information in key places in episode 8! Everything about the show gets me! The cinematography, the lighting, and especially the acting! Oh, the acting! It is so wonderful! I hope that you enjoy your viewing!

    Luke Dellorso

Leave a Reply

