Manchester By The Sea: Casey Affleck Stars

By Jordan Hansgen

This movie is tough to watch.  There is no doubt about it.  It starts off sad, gets to more reasons to be sad and then doesn’t really have a happy ending, but rather an ending that just is.  However, Casey Affleck commands the film with his brilliant acting and even earned his first ever Academy Award for his performance.  This film is beautiful and tragic and Affleck shined as the main character, whom the story follows throughout.

mv5bmjg5zjhhzwmtmwm3mc00ntflltgym2ytnmzknwyyyzzhyjzkl2ltywdlxkeyxkfqcgdeqxvymdc2ntezmw-_v1_sy1000_sx1500_al_

Affleck playes Lee Chandler, who’s a works as a handyman in Quincy.  His brother dies and leaves in his will a decision to make Lee his son’s guardian and intended to make Lee return to Manchester.  However, Lee’s dark past haunts him there and he can’t escape it.  His negligence led to the deaths of his three young children, shown through flashbacks and the town had ostracized him after the tragedy.

Affleck throughout the film seems troubled and distant.  His hopeless demeanor before the past events are shown creates discomfort throughout the film for the audience.  Although the film is tragic, his care for his nephew is shown often through his actions.   Affleck’s performance was deserving of an Oscar, however, this movie absolutely can and most likely will make you cry.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Manchester By The Sea: Casey Affleck Stars

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I keep reading about this film, but have yet to see it. It definitely seems like a stirring piece, and after the Oscars, it is even more so on my radar. Thanks for this review – I am now determined to see it!

    -Meg Schmit

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I read an interesting article today about how Brie Larson choose not to applaud him for his award. Apparently, Afflect has gone to court twice for sexual assault cases. As a sexual assault victim, Larson didn’t clap when he won last night. This, unfortunately has changed my entire view of the actor… Not sure how to feel about this fantastic film anymore.

    Katherine Naylor

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I totally agree. Affleck shines throughout with his superior performance, and I believe he is one of the reasons that the movie is so moving. Wish to see more of his performance!

    -Kevin Yu

  4. mediaphiles says:

    the movie sounds great besides the fact that everything about it seems sad. Though this may be true movies like this, where the typical story line or topics aren’t followed really allow for the actors skills to come out. I might have to check this out because i am interested in hoe Affleck plays his role.

    -Dez

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I’ve been wanting to see Manchester by the Sea, but I haven’t for that exact reason: it’s so sad! I am positive this film will make me ugly cry. Has Casey Affleck been in anything else? I hadn’t heard his name prior to this film. -Caitlin Herlihy

  6. I have also been keeping up with the sexual assault case that Casey has been involved with and find it to be rather conflicting. While I certainly don’t think it is okay, I also think an artists work should be acknowledged independently. The award is for the best actor, and I really do think he was the best actor of the bunch for his role in Manchester by the Sea. It will be interesting to see how this plays out.
    Kelly

  7. mediaphiles says:

    I’m so happy that Casey won best actor he truly deserved it for this role. It’s true that this is one of the most emotionally draining movies I have ever seen, but the story and acting is too good not to see it just once!

    -Kendra

  8. mediaphiles says:

    I have been reading about Casey Affleck’s recent allegations and they are very unsettling. I read this article about how the Oscars is sending the wrong message, awarding someone for their bad behavior. It goes on to say that this allows Casey Affleck to avoid facing the consequences and justifies his behavior, which I do believe is true. Manchester By the Sea was a great film, no question, but it does make me think about the fact that those women that Casey allegedly assaulted now see their assaulter be rewarded after these series of very serious crimes. The real award goes to those women for speaking out against him.

    -Shelby Halliman

  9. mediaphiles says:

    I was really glad to see Casey Affleck win the Oscar. I thought his performance was definitely the best of the year and is what makes this film so great. The film is so sad, but his performance along with the great writing makes the film an amazing watch despite the depressing plot.

    -Walker Rise

  10. mediaphiles says:

    Casey definitely deserved his Oscar. You’re right about his performance carrying the film. But this movie is also funny, or at least it was to me. So much of it feels so real, and I can’t help but laugh at their strained relationship and his brother’s son’s goals. They all seem so unimportant but I really believe that a teenager would act that way after a family member dies. The film is dark and really emphasizes that life just goes on. People mourn, but in the end it’s like death holds no consequences. I think that’s what messes Lee Chandler up so much.

    Russell Lawrence

  11. mediaphiles says:

    Ive really got to see this film because of all the unreal things people have been saying about it. I heard Casey Affleck’s performance is incredible.

    -Max Lissette

Leave a Reply

