New Girl; the most underrated comedy

By: Maddie Turner

Watching New Girl the second time through has been even more enjoyable than the first time, and in my opinion it is the most underrated comedy on television today. The series follows the lives of three male roommates and one female, named Jess.  She moves in with the boys after her boyfriend of four years cheats on her.  The incessant joking and bantering is original and light, and the plot continuously evolves.  Unlike other comedies that repeat ideas and get a bit old after a few seasons, New Girl in my opinion, year after year delivers.

Although many friends of mine have tried watching the series, few have gotten past the first few episodes.  Admittedly, Jess, played by Zooey Deschanel, seems to try too hard in the first episodes and is a bit uncomfortable to watch.   Once past the introductory episodes however, you cannot help but fall in love with the relationship of the group.

Image result for new girl screenshot

“Cece Crashes” (Season 3, Episode 4, 2015)  

Many have called New Girl the modern day version of Friends, and I could not agree more.  I actually find it to be even better than Friends, which by the end seemed to have lost its charm.  I promise if you give this show a chance, it will be very worth it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Girl; the most underrated comedy

  1. mediaphiles says:

    Unlike your friends, I have been able to make it through a few seasons of this show. Unfortunately, unlike you, I haven’t been able to make it to the end! I’m not sure quite why, because I really enjoyed the characters on this show. I think your comparison to Friends is totally on point. This show is funny, charming, and overall, makes you feel so good about your own close friends.

    -Lydia geisel

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I LOVE New Girl – though, like you said, it took some effort to get past the uncomfortable acting of Deschanel’s first few episodes. It’s always lighthearted, funny, and relatable, and brings fresh eyes to the comedy scene. I’d even argue it blurs the lines between male v female comedy – it cannot be deemed a “chick flick” type show, but neither is it masculine.

    -Meg Schmit

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I love New Girl!! My sister and I watched it last summer. While I don’t think it’s as witty as Friends, I agree there are a lot of similarities. I love how Jess is always 100% authentic. She’s a great character for teen girls to watch on television. She’s confident, loyal, honest and quirky. The characters all bring something different to the show. The switch between Coach and Winston in the first few episodes is a little weird, but it all works out in the end. -Caitlin Herlihy

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I agree that Jess takes some getting used to. I was unsure about the show at first because the acting seemed a bit over the top, but the characters dynamic is amazing and I love this show!! Honestly, it’s just funny. Schmidt kills me every episode. It’s also refreshing to have a cute, quirky, and kind of awkward lead girl and agree that she is great for teen girls to watch instead of someone unrealistically perfect.

    -Kendra

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I love New Girl! I have watched every episode, except for the most recent season. We got to talk about New Girl a lot in my Culture and the Sitcom class (shout out to Mary Dalton). The discussion was very interesting because it was also often compared to Friends, in that buddy comedy sense. I also recommend watching it. They have a sort of wit that I really enjoy and the characters interact really well with each other. It is a lighthearted sitcom that just makes you laugh.

    -Shelby Halliman

  6. mediaphiles says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more, I have seen all of the Friends series and all of the New Girl series up to this point and while I loved Friends, New Girl is kind of like a more upbeat version of Friends that is even more funny in my opinion. I also find that while Jess can be annoying at times, as her character is sort of meant to be, I don’t really dislike any of the main characters in New Girl at all and in fact really like pretty much all of them whereas in Friends I didn’t really love any of the main characters besides Joey and Ross (unpopular pick, I know)

    -Max Lissette

Leave a Reply

