Game of Thrones: Multiple Storylines

By Jordan Hansgen

I will do my best to avoid spoilers in this blog.  This HBO show has created a lot of die-hard fans and the acting is phenomenal and the story is extremely compelling.  The nudity and violence is absolutely at times overwhelming, but the way the show deals with multiple storylines and multiple settings in a fantasy world is truly impressive.

winterfell

Firstly, the show’s title sequence, which is paired with an incredibly cool orchestral theme shows the locations the episode will take place and hints at the state of each of those locations.  It gives you a better sense of the state of the world and helps people know more about the show, which is very complex.

The complexity comes from the amount of characters that are all integral to the story.  Their are many families feuding for power and also their are a lot of minor characters that the show still follows.  In my opinion, I really enjoy this factor to the show.  It is rare for a show to follow in depth over 10 characters, but this show does it and succeeds.  In almost every episode, there is an A, B, C, D, etc. story in multiple locations.  You are really unable to move away from the screen because you don’t want to miss a beat.  The show is truly masterful in the way controls the complex nature of its characters and setting.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Game of Thrones: Multiple Storylines

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I’m one of the few people who haven’t seen Game of Thrones, despite everyone’s praise for the series. I really need to watch it at some point. Sometimes shows with too many plots can be overwhelming, but it’s nice to know this doesn’t feel like too much. Do the plots relate to one another or are they completely separate? -Caitlin Herlihy

    • mediaphiles says:

      sometimes the plots are completely separate and don’t relate to another plot directly for an entire season. Other times characters mention hearing about the other plot, but more or less that storyline is brewing in the background. It takes a long time for the show to unravel itself, but it works really well

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I have not watched the show but read two of the books and there are definitely many complex story lines. I stopped reading the books because it just got too depressing for me, but I did think that the books were awesome and it sounds like the show has done a great job at sticking to the books.

    -Kendra

    • mediaphiles says:

      Kendra, I strongly recommend you to read the rest of the books! Not that they will get less depressing, maybe quite the opposite, but I’ll tell everyone this: the author of the books, GRRM, is in fact a diehard romantic. He created a world filled with darkness and cruelty, yes, but he did so not to advertise the negative side of life, but to denounce it. And in a world so dark and hopeless, every beautiful moment shines like a diamond. The wisest loyalty (not a blind one), the most beautiful love, and the most selfless scarification can be found in the ugliest of wars. Honorable deeds can be found in the most despiteful characters. In a world where knights cheat, rape, and kill, true chivalry can still be found, ironically, in a woman, who can never become a knight because of her gender; her storyline in the fourth book where she wanders the war-torn lands, witnesses the suffering of the smallfolks, and meets people who are genuinely kind, is some of GRRM’s best writings. Moments like these can be found throughout the series, and I can’t get enough of them.

      This is the one thing that I feel the TV series fails to capture, the beauty. GRRM is infamous for killing his characters, but he does so with careful foreshadowing and gradual plot and character development, to arouse tragic feelings for his readers. Tragedies are beautiful, in my opinion. In one of GRRM’s recent blog comments, he argues against the claim that romanticism requires happy endings, and says “What’s more romantic than ROMEO & JULIET, WUTHERING HEIGHTS, THE GREAT GATSBY.” The tragic moments are romantic and beautiful. In the show, however, deaths and depressing moments are more for their shock value, lacking proper buildup and character development. I may be biased here, because I am a huge book fan!

      I didn’t intend to write this long, but I guess I’m just too enthusiastic over the topic. Anyways, I hope I am being convincing! And the show is great, too. Definitely try it if you can!

      -Kevin

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I love this show! I believe the opening theme alone is what makes this series iconic. Ramin Djawadi is an excellent composer, who is also composed scores for Westworld. It is very difficult to develop multiple characters within a series, but I believe that GOT does it with such ease and fluidity. Each story line connects with one another whether you expect it or not. I can’t wait for it to come back in the summer!

    -Shelby Halliman

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I absolutely love this show and have read all the books. The amount of characters and settings can be overbearing at first, but I think the show does a great job balancing the stories in a way that makes them flow well together and not confuse the audience. I can’t wait for the shows return this summer and the release of the next book in the series!

    -Walker Rise

    • mediaphiles says:

      It’s amazing that I find so many book readers here! Back in China we are so rare. I’m thrilled right now. I agree that the show does a great job blending the storylines in an easy way for the audience, while in the books it can get so overwhelming and requires constant checking and rereading. I can’t wait for the seventh season, too, and see how it will conclude the story now that it has already surpassed the book’s plot. The next book, well, we are in for a long wait!

      -Kevin

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I totally agree that the multiple storylines in GoT are truly impressive. Almost all characters start off at the same location and spread out, while new characters and storylines are brought in. This way it is easier for the audience to remember each character, and the number of storylines reaches an almost unparalleled level. I’m looking forward to the new season this summer!

    -Kevin

  6. mediaphiles says:

    I am a die hard Game of Thrones fan and I am dying for it to come back in July! I just saw the teaser the other day and wanted to cry! You are correct, the storytelling in the series is absolutely phenomenal and the acting brings to story to a whole new level that immerses every watcher into the show! Thank you so much for your commentary Jordan!

    -Luke Dellorso

  7. mediaphiles says:

    Once I went to a concert the weekend after a season finale and the warm-up band played a version of the “cool orchestral theme song”. The crowd went nuts. It was the first time that I felt like fans of music, also were fans of the same television. So cool GOT had that power.

    Katherine Naylor

Leave a Reply

