“The Accountant” Is Action Packed!

By: Kendra Thornton

 

accountant 2

Taken from Google Play

Over break I was kind of forced to watch The Accountant, which ended up being one of the best parts of the week! The title of this story is pretty subtle for what this movie is actually about, but it fits perfectly. The movie is about Christian Wolff ,(Ben Affleck) A high-functioning autistic math genius who is an accountant by day and vigilante by night. This movie does a great job at maintaining suspense while slowly unraveling the plot. Because Christian is such a complex character, flashbacks are necessary to understand who he is and how he thinks. I also liked how the movie began and ended at the school for autistic children because I think that the focus of the whole movie was Christian’s battle/struggle with his disorder.

the accountant 1

Taken from Google Play

You could argue that the action/thriller aspect of the movie was incorporated to appeal to more people over a movie from the perspective of an individual with autism. But I can’t agree with that because it completely devalues the movie, and this movie is very well done. Honestly I think that Christian Wolff is such an interesting character because he is a contradiction. He wants to change and we see that throughout the film, especially in the ending. I’ll try not to give anything away, but I loved the ending. There is a scene where you are watching Christian from someone else’s perspective on a computer monitor, which made the scene so much more suspenseful because you have been following Christian throughout the whole film and that shifts at this crucial point where you want to see him the most. The only thing I would say I didn’t like was the casting of Anna Kendrick as Dana. This might be superficial but her and Christian’s characters don’t seem right together. Or maybe It’s because I had just seen Mike and Dave Need Wedding Dates and just couldn’t take Anna Kendrick seriously after that. Despite this hiccup, I still loved this movie and it’s definitely worth watching!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “The Accountant” Is Action Packed!

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I’m so glad you loved The Accountant! I watched this earlier in the semester and really enjoyed it, too. It got a little confusing at times, so I definitely need to re-watch it. I agree with you about the casting of Anna Kendrick. I hate to type-cast her, but her mannerisms are too comedic for a role so serious. I thought they could have developed her character a bit more, too. -Caitlin Herlihy

  2. mediaphiles says:

    The Accountant was on my list of movies to watch in 2016 but I never got around to seeing it because I was abroad while it was out, which kinda let me down. I will probably watch this when it comes on Netflix or something, I really like Affleck and this seems like a really interesting concept.

    – Cal

  3. mediaphiles says:

    Okay so i started watching this movie a few weeks ago at about 12:00 am and i was dead tired. I didn’t think i would make it through, but the story was so interesting that my eyes were glued to the tv . I think your description of the film is spot on. If you are into action films i encourage you to watch it.

    -Dez

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I’ve been meaning to see this movie since I saw the previews for it and just haven’t gotten around to it. After reading this and the comments about it, I’ll definitely have to check it out.

    -Max Lissette

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I still need to see this movie, but it sounds like an entertaining film. An action movie with an interesting story definitely sounds good.
    -Jordan Hansgen

Leave a Reply

