The Tune to The Fame

By: Katherine Naylor

Ever since I can remember, my home has been filled with music. Before I could crawl, I casi_famosos_2000_5.jpgcould rock back and forth to “Hello, Goodbye” by the Beatles. With this, my favorite film of all time, not due to the acting or directing but the soundtrack and dialogue, is Almost Famous directed by Cameron Crowe, and starring Billy Crudup, Kate Hudson and Patrick Fugit. While some film’s costume design and set design reflect the time period, Almost Famous’ score is what really brings viewers into the 1970s. (Image from source)

For those who do not know, the film follows the story of a fifteen year old boy who pretends to be older in order to write the cover story of Rolling Stone magazine. He gets to follow the band Stillwater on tour. The film tells the story of the Stillwater, their groupies and in the insanity of life on the road as a musician in the 1970s. The film shows the power of music: it subconsciously brings the audience into the lives of these people. While watching, you will feel your body suddenly relax as the band sings “Tiny Dancer” by Elliot John, reflecting the relaxing lifestyle of the band members. It brings you to the (probably drug infused) vibe of the band. Here is one music blog’s opinion on the top 10 rock and roll moments of the film.

8ce12931-b41b-4aa6-a601-7113d65b8ee2.jpgImage from source

For me, the best scene in the film brings together an amazing life lesson from Penny, one of the groupies, while music is playing in the background (see below).

The music brings you into the car, encapsulating you, just like how William is completely encapsulated by Penny who herself, is encapsulated by the world she is living in, heard threw her dialogue. In other words, the viewer can feel how Penny feels due to the life lesson she tells William, while the music allows the audience to feel how William feels about Polly.

Next time you are watching a film ask: What is the score? Is it sad? Is it uplifting? Then ask: does the music make you feel the same things the characters are feeling?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Tune to The Fame

  1. mediaphiles says:

    I’ve only seen this movie once and I loved it, but this is making me want to watch it again because I definitely didn’t pay enough attention to the score. I agree that Penny is such a great character because emotions drive her and she acts on them which makes her so passionate. Must go re watch this movie now. Thanks!

    -Kendra

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I’ve had this film recommended to me many times and I’ve had it on my watchlist for a while. I’ve never known what it’s about but after reading this, it has made me interested in watching the film. I enjoyed Cameron Crowe’s film Jerry Maguire, so I think I’ll probably like this one as well.

    – Cal

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I’ve never seen this movie before, so thank you for recommending! Thank you also for sharing your experience with music. I always love movies with a great soundtrack. Sometimes good music can make a movie special. You made this movie very interesting to me, so I’ll definitely try it once I get the chance!

    -Kevin

  4. mediaphiles says:

    I actually own this movie and have never watched it. I know that’s surprising but I definitely won’t neglect it now that you have described it so well!

  5. mediaphiles says:

    I saw this movie on Netflix and really enjoyed it. As an aspiring journalist, I related to the main character, but really just loved the music aspect of the film

    -Jordan Hansgen

Leave a Reply

