Welcome to Westworld!

By: Shelby Halliman

A stunning portrayal of artificial intelligence, Westworld is complete with groundbreaking visuals,  outstanding acting, and a profound narrative.

Official poster of Westworld

Finally, I was able to devote some time to watching Westworld and all I can say is… wow! This series is absolutely amazing! Don’t worry, this post does not contain spoilers, but I do suggest that you watch the show. Based on the 1973 film of the same name, Westworld explores the idea of artificial intelligence in association to human limitation. Reported to have a budget of $100 million, there is no argument that this series would not be visually stunning; however, I believe it is the narrative that makes Westworld so captivating. The overall plot is fairly straightforward. It is about an amusement park that contains artificial beings whose existence is for the sole purpose of fulfilling human desire. There are only 10 episodes, but within each hour long episode, the story gains the ability to shift and guide the audience in a completely different direction. If you are still not convinced by this point, here is the official HBO trailer that visually expresses the intricacies of Westworld:

This show seriously questions humanity. By making the robots as realistic as possible, these robots emulate an almost perfect human form. Though this maybe true, their creators still remind the robots that they are artificial and can be manipulated in any fashion that their creators see fit. If you think about it, it is kind of disturbing to see how far humans are willing to go in order to satiate humanity’s frivolous desires. The trailer above is still pretty vague, but there is only so much you can fit into a two minute and ten second video. The whole show consists of people immersing themselves in an ideal world where everything is at their fingertips. While watching this show, even I fell victim to the thought of exploring this new and strange world. Nevertheless, Westworld fully makes you understand that this world comes with a price.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Welcome to Westworld!

  1. mediaphiles says:

    It’s been exciting these past couple of years to see the amazing shows that HBO has been coming out with. I, too, was instantly captivated by Westworld. It was nothing like anything I’ve ever watched or anything that I thought I would be interested in. They do a great job in making a sci-fi nonbeliever believe.

    – lydia geisel

  2. mediaphiles says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever heard a bad word about Westworld, and in fact, almost everything I hear about it is not just good, but GREAT. Its one of the many popular shows of the past several months that I haven’t gotten around to watching but I feel like I should keep it at the top of my list.

    -Max Lissette

  3. mediaphiles says:

    I’ve heard only great things about Westworld and the acting in it. I guess I have to start watching.
    -Jordan Hansgen

  4. mediaphiles says:

    Thank you for posting about this show! For some reason, I have never gotten the chance to watch it, but I would really love the chance to. I think its scary to think how fast our technology is advancing, so shows like these could actually help make sense of the near future.

    Katherine Naylor

Leave a Reply

